Empties–products I’ve finished using #11

6 Feb

Seeing as I finished my Bottega Eye Cream, what other better way is there to start off the New Year February than to chuck out a bunch of empties, right? Right?

img_1311

Face Stuff:
Starting clockwise from the bottom left, this decent ‘sample’ size of the Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil came in the Cult Beauty Box that I wrote about a little while back. Well, some months on with a bi-weekly use of this, it finally ran out. I liked this so much I bought a travel-size version of this with its partner in crime, the Good Genes Treatmeant (which doesn’t smell great, fyi). What I like about this is that it doesn’t dry out my skin, but balances it. I’ve noticed that the texture of my skin is a lot more refined since I’ve used this. Winner. Pity it is so expensive!
Next is the Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask. I didn’t actually buy this or use the entire jar–it was left to me by my cousin who was moving overseas and couldn’t take all of her skincare with her. This is a gentle but effective exfoliating mask that I tended to use on days when my skin was looking a bit average and I was in need of a glowy pick-me-up. It’s not as tingly as some masks I’ve used, but is definitely effective. I haven’t built up the courage to buy a full sized jar of this as Tata Harper is one of those ‘investment’ kind of organic skincare brands.
Tucked in there is a travel-size of the Acure Brightening Facial Scrub. Again, this was a hand-me-down from my cousin. This smelled spicy like ginger and had a nice grittiness to it without it feeling like I Was going to scrub my face off. One for me to look out for in the future methinks.
The Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel ran out some time ago. I’ve since been using the Aurelia Cleanser, as well as a new one by Mūn, called the Akwi Purifying Cleanser. Each are beautiful in their own right. I would probably purchase the Oskia one again at some point in the future. I like the packaging aside from the fact that you can’t tell how much product is left. I got used to the interesting scent and definitely liked how it made my skin feel.
I’ve got two bottles there of the Michael Todd Blue Green Algae Toner, which has featured in past Empties of mine. The reason why I’ve included them again is because they’ve changed the packaging. Instead of a pour out top, it is now a pump. I had an accident with one of these bottles. It fell on the ground and the whole internal structure failed, causing an epic leak, and I ended up losing a lot of product. It made me sad. I ended up trying to fill up the second bottle, which I had been using for a while. This is when I discovered that as it pumps out product, the internal part moves up, not like a spray bottle with the little tube bits inside and so I couldn’t fill up much. Does that make any sense at all? I also refilled a travel sized bottle so I didn’t waste too much product and didn’t have to have it sitting upside down on my bathroom vanity for too long to stop any leakage. I do love this stuff–I just have to be less clumsy in the future.
I think that teeny tiny tube was a sample of the Darphin Hydraskin Light Cream Gel. This had a nice consistency, but it is quite heavily perfumed, which I didn’t get on with. I’ll stick to my plain old MooGoo, thanks.
Next is the Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist, which I think was the second type of hydrating facial toner things I’ve now tried out. I think this would be suited to more dry skins than mine, or maybe more for the dry, Winter months when my skin feels more parched. I don’t know if I’ll repurchase as I think I’ve found something I like more.
Then we have another sample (I’ve been ploughing through my samples stash) of the Uma Ultimate Brightening Mask, which came in a Beauty Heroes subscription box some months back. I did like this mask, although I accidentally didn’t shut the jar properly and didn’t get to use it all because it dried up. I’m not sure if I’d buy the full size, but it was nice while I had it.
Hanging on the bottom right is the GlamGlow Powermud Dual Cleanser, which was also a travel size because I didn’t want to shell out for the full size. This smells delicious in a weird way. It was pretty effective at purifying my skin, although these days I think I’m all about the enzyme masks. I don’t know if I will buy the full size ever, but maybe I’d get the travel one again.
And lastly, because I forgot to photograph it with the rest of the face stuff is the Kate Somerville Goat Milk Cleanser, pictured below. I wasn’t totally blown away by this. Yes, it cleansed my skin well, and my face didn’t do anything freaky while I was using it. But I found it a bit meh, and the consistency of it was strange in that it would separate into a liquid and balm when you squeezed it out of the tube. Probably not one for repurchase, I think.

img_1312

Body Stuff:
My sister bought me this Bx Earth Shower Gel to replace stuff she’d used while she’d been staying at my place for a while. This smells delicious and it’s a good price as well as being sulfate free. I’ve since gone all out and purchased a couple of ridiculously expensive shower gels in the past month or so, but if I’m in the mood for fruity deliciousness again, I’ll be getting this for sure. It’s what I would call a cheap and cheerful product.
I haven’t technically finished this Mor moisturiser, but it kind of got to the point where it wasn’t exactly a pleasure to use it. Rather it just felt like I was slathering this on purely to empty the jar. I thought to myself that this was kind of silly so it’s getting chucked out. It has a nice texture and smells nice and sweet, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

img_1314

Hair Stuff:
Aaaallll the Rahua Shampoo samples. I’ve been on a bit of a samples kick at the moment. I kind of got to the point where I had so many samples stashed in my apartment that I kept ‘saving’ for special occasions that I reached a tipping point and decided to just start using them up. I’d recently read that samples had a shorter shelf life than their full-sized counterparts, so thought it best to use rather than potentially waste.
I’ve also run out of shampoo recently and haven’t wanted to go all out and buy a new one. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because it’s getting a bit overwhelming trying to pick a good one, and not knowing whether it’s going to make my scalp itchy. Anyway, Rahua is nice, but the original one made my scalp a little itchy and it is ridiculously expensive.
The Cowshed Shampoo and Conditioner samples came in a travel kit. I quite like Cowshed’s shower gels, so thought I’d give their other products a whirl. I actually really liked these two, but I’m not sure if I’m going to splurge and get the full size.
Since I’ve dyed my hair an outrageous red colour, I’ve been using this coloured conditioner from Nak. So far, so good. My hairdresser (who has now abandoned me) would get excited about the vibrancy of my hair every time I went in to get my fringe trimmed. I’ve already bought a second bottle seeing as I think I’ll stick with the crazy colour for a few months longer.

I did actually have a few more empties to include in this post, but the photo for one didn’t work, and the rest was just old makeup that I decided to part ways with. If I’d gone through them all this post would have been waaaay too long and it’s already tipping to the point of being a cure for insomnia. I’m sorry!

The last few ‘interesting’ empties were mostly different Magnesium Oils that I’ve tried out–so far my favourite is actually the one that I’m using at the moment. It’s the Amazing Oils Magnesium Oil Spray. I can feel this one tingling away when I spray it on, compared to a couple of others I’d tried that didn’t feel like they did much of anything.

Embarrassingly, I’ve already started accumulating more empty things, seeing as it’s taken me a couple of weeks to get my butt into gear and finish this post off. It’s something about January, guys. You’re supposed to be motivated at the beginning of the New Year, but I’ve struggled to get going.

I’ll probably have to start on the next Empties post before too long so it doesn’t turn into a novel like this one, hey?

Talk soon, friends!

Leave a comment