Empties–products I’ve finished using #10

7 Oct

I moved last week back into my old apartment which has now been renovated. I am a little bit dubious about the quality of the workmanship after all the dramas I had in the other unit, but fingers crossed this one will be fine. I’ll talk more about the “incident” in another post. Look forward to that!

But, my dedication to keeping a hold of empties for these posts was evident as I moved some of these empties with me back upstairs. That was until my serum and shampoo ran out on the same day and I decided it was time to do another post.

img_1256

Hair Stuff:
Let’s start with hair, shall we. First there is the MooGoo Shampoo and Conditioner. I first tried this about six years ago, and while I didn’t hate it, I wasn’t an overall fan. It was kind of the same this time around. It didn’t make my head itch, which is a common problem for me with other shampoos. However, because it doesn’t lather particularly well, I felt like I’d use more shampoo than necessary just trying to spread the product around my scalp. The conditioner was nice too, but it didn’t blow my socks off. I imagine that this would be a good product to use on children who have sensitive scalps, but on my hair it was just a bit meh. Cost-wise it’s pretty good as it’s $17.50AUD for 500mL of product.

img_1255

Secondly, I tried out the 100% Pure Glossing Shampoo and Conditioner. This actually did make my hair super shiny, although that could partly be because I recently dyed it and dyes tend to add a certain gloss-factor to one’s hair. Speaking of hair dye, this was supposed to be colour-safe. My hair is currently what my dad calls ‘improbable’ red, so anytime it gets wet, water runs pink, so I don’t think I’m a good candidate to really test this out. I still had to keep my colour fresh by using a coloured conditioner at least once a week. By the time I reached the end of these tubes, my scalp was starting to get a little itchy because my scalp is temperamental. Would I buy this again? Probably. But for now I’m going to try something new.

img_1258

Make Up:
Ah the good old mineral powder. I’ve been using mineral powder for my ‘foundation’ for years as I hate the feeling of liquid foundation on my skin. It makes me feel like I’m suffocating. Well, the Smashbox Halo Hydrating Perfecting Powder has been hanging around my make up drawer for over two years now since I used it as my weekend or special occasion powder. This was really nice but I didn’t feel like it was any better or worse than my Nude by Nature powder that I use the rest of the time, and it’s really quite pricey at $71AUD.
I bought the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation at the end of my US holiday over two years ago too. By that point I’d become fairly tan from all my time outside in the sun. When I got back to Australia, I swiftly shed my tan (hello, office job) and this ended up being just a tad too dark for my complexion about 95% of the time. Plus I noticed that if I used it a couple of days in a row my cheeks would get a little bit irritated and start breaking out. I haven’t technically finished this, but I don’t see myself wanting to use it up considering it’s not a good fit for my skin.

img_1260

Skin Stuff:
I ran out of my Origins Original Skin Serum a few weeks ago and then later my Hydraluron, but didn’t bother keeping the empties seeing as both have been featured here before. I also didn’t bother to repurchase seeing as I’m trying to look for more natural options for my skincare these days. I was left with this Pai Sea Aster & Wild Oat Redness Serum that I’d bought thanks to a serious discount from one of my favourite stores. This is so lovely to use. Pai is a brand focused on sensitive skins and this particular serum is supposed to help with skin that is easily inflamed. Mine isn’t particularly, but I still wanted to give it a go. It’s really hydrating without being sticky and made my skin feel amazing. I think I’m going to have to repurchase.
The Kosmea Hydrating Rosewater Mist was my first foray into the world of spray toners… and the jury is still out. I think it was a nice additional step and it was hydrating, but I don’t think it’s an absolute necessity in an everyday skincare regimen. I think maybe if you have particularly dry or dehydrated skin, that you might feel a difference.
The sad-looking box and bottle there of the Sunday Riley Artemis oil was a beautiful product. I received it as a gift from a colleague and, because it was such an expensive product, I was too scared to ever completely remove it from its lovely box. It didn’t smell the greatest, if I’m honest, but it did good things for my skin. It’s quite an expensive oil at $110AUD, so not one to choose if you’re on a budget. If you’re looking for a good investment then I’d recommend this. I’m trying some different oils now and not looking to repurchase this anytime soon, although I suspect this could be one of those “why did I ever stop using this?” kind of products.
I almost forgot to mention the A Buzz from the Bees Lip Balm that I bought in the past couple of months in a desperate attempt to fix my lips which are currently going through a crap phase. They’re sensitive, often peel, and not looking or feeling the best. This lip balm didn’t make my lips worse and only sort of made them slightly better. This is probably the quickest I’ve ever gone through a lip balm but it was probably because I kept slathering this on in the hopes my lips wouldn’t feel like they were going to fall off. I don’t think I’ll repurchase anytime soon, but it was a nice lip balm while it lasted.

img_1259

Extras:
I think I’ve talked about the This Works Sleep+ spray before. I didn’t really keep up with the ritual of spraying this on my pillow every night towards the end of the bottle. Life got a little out of hand for a couple of months and I was using all sorts of sprays and remedies in a desperate and poor attempt to make myself feel even just a little less anxious. I enjoy the smell of this spray and it does feel relaxing, but I think when you’re experiencing extreme anxiety and insomnia problems that it’s not the most effective thing to use. It’s a nice add-on. I’ll probably use this again some time in the future, but for now I’m trying out a balm.
The Weleda Skin Food is hands down (heh, a pun) the best hand/multi-use cream I’ve ever used. I’ve even used it during the cold months on my cheeks where it felt like my skin was dehydrated. It smells herbal and medicinal in the best way, is soothing, emollient, and protective. Just the best. I’ve already got two other tubes of it floating around in my possession. I don’t think I will ever be without this now.
The Jar Body Scrub in “California” is the second one of this particular scent that I’ve used up. I just love how zesty it smells and how it made my skin feel. It is a more summer scent so I’ll probably have to invest in another one in the next few weeks. There is also a coffee and vanilla scented one that I want to try because coffee and vanilla are two of my favourite smells ever.

I’ll tell you what. I love tipping all of the empty bottles and packages into the recycling bin. There’s just that extra sense of satisfaction knowing you’ve finished something and you don’t have to hold onto it anymore.

Well, until next time!

Leave a Reply

