Cult Beauty Box First Impressions

3 Jun

Well, I think it’s fair to say that 2016 isn’t quite turning out to be the stress-free year I was hoping it would be. My yoga class has been cancelled, I have to move in a couple of weeks because my landlord is renovating, and there’ve been a few unexpected extra stresses added on top of that. Ugh, Life. I’ve indulged in a little retail therapy to make myself feel better (while also feeling guilty about making unnecessary purchases. It’s a circle of emotions).

Because I have little to no self control when it comes to buying nice skincare, I recently got sucked into the hype of the Cult Beauty Box curated by LilyPebbles and ViviannaDoesMakeup. These two lovely British gals are some of my favourite people to watch on YouTube. These are the type of girls that I would like to be friends with in the real world.

IMG_1243

I picked up my parcel from the Post Office last Thursday morning and opened it as soon as I got inside. Side story: I started freaking out that it wasn’t going to arrive because about three weeks passed and there was no parcel, so I sent an email to the Customer Service asking if I should be worried. No joke, the very next day, I found a little note in my mailbox that I had a parcel to pick up. So I sent another email saying it was a false alarm. They replied on Thursday with the most delightfully British reply, which left me feeling quite chuffed.

On to the good stuff! What’s in the parcel?

IMG_1246

First up is the Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel. I’ve been wanting to try this for a couple of years now, but it’s not very easily obtainable in this here country of Australia. This sounded completely up my street, so I’m super excited to now have it in my possession. I have been using it the past few nights and am intrigued by the smell, which kind of reminds me of some weird blue liquid that my mother used to treat insect bites on me when I was a kid. That’s not actually a bad thing, I was just expecting something I guess a little more herbal or floral? It also has a more slippery feel than the Nude Cleansing Jelly, but still leaves my skin feeling very comfortable after using it. I have discovered that it stings a lot if you get it in your eyes, so be a bit wary of that. Otherwise, I’m enjoying it so far.

Next we have the Wet Brush. I currently use the Tangle Teaser, no problem. If I’m being honest, I don’t actually brush my hair that frequently. It’s hard to tell the difference between my brushed and un-brushed hair so often I just don’t even bother. I’ve brushed my hair a few times with this now and it really does seem to brush through knots very easily. Not that I have many knots. But you get what I mean. If you have really knotty hair, this might be worth a try.

Then we have the Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist. It’s just starting to get cooler here at the end of what should have been Autumn and my skin is starting to feel the effects of the drier, cooler weather. This has a nice, fine spray to it and definitely feels hydrating on the skin. It also has a beautiful scent to it that doesn’t linger too long on the skin (I’m pretty sensitive to fragrance). I haven’t used it enough yet to determine whether it makes a noticeable difference to my skin, but I’m very happy to continue using it.

The next thing we have is the Jade Facial Roller. This thing intrigues me as I’m not entirely sure what it’s actually supposed to do apart from massage your face and assist with lymph drainage. I tried it out on my forehead the other day because I had a slight headache, and also showed it to my mum who was visiting me. I like the fact that it stays cold and it feels very soothing as you roll it across your face. The jury’s kind of still out on this one but I will definitely continue to use it.

Next up is the Becca Backlight Primer. I used this over the past weekend so I didn’t have to lug around my current rather heavy primer. I have a pretty oily T-zone, but my cheeks are starting to get pretty dry. And, seeing as the weather’s getting a bit cold and meh, one’s skin tends to get a bit.. grey and dull looking. I liked this primer because it didn’t leave my skin feeling weird. I don’t like primers that leave my skin feeling silky, like if if something’s fairly silicone heavy, and this one doesn’t feel like that. It sinks into the skin well and leaves a nice glow without looking like you’re trying to signal space. I’ll be using this one special occasions where I feel like I need some extra healthy glow.

Now, second last is Stilla Stay All Day Waterproof Eyeliner. I actually already have a mini version of this that I’ve been using on and off for a couple of months. I’m not big into doing liquid liner on a regular basis, as I am lazy and also have very hooded eyes and the whole winged eyeliner thing is no bueno on me. When I do try to do eyeliner, I do it so that it doesn’t extend beyond my actual eyelid and therefore doesn’t give me a weird droopy eye effect. What I do like about this particular liner though is that it is pretty easy to use and doesn’t smudge on my eyes like a mofo despite my greasy lids.

Last, but certainly not least, is the Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil. Boy, oh boy. I’ve had my eye on this for a long time but never felt like I could really justify the hefty price tag. This is hella expensive. I’ve now used this almost exclusively since I got it last week and I think it has actually already made a noticeable difference to my complexion. Now, it doesn’t feel overly hydrating per se, but, it does sink into the skin well. When I wake up in the morning, my skin feels good. It’s like my skin has been refined overnight. Hard to really explain, but I think it might be a little bit magical. I think this may end up being one of those skincare investments that I’m actually willing to part with my money for.

And those are my first impressions of the box! I’m super intrigued to try out more boxes that come out, particularly ones curated by Caroline Hirons. But I’ll have to move first and settle all of those finances before I go on an online spending spree.

Leave a Reply

