Preparing for a Move

1 Jun

I was cruising (ha!) along this year with the mild hope that my health and stress levels would improve because last year sucked a lot. However, I recently got told by my real estate that I have to move out of my home as the landlord plans to completely renovate the block of units that I live in. It was just an out of the blue, “you need to be out in two months when your lease ends”. Great. Cue emotional meltdown.

After my initial freak out, I’ve tried to look at the positive side of things. Maybe it is time for a change? At least my new place will hopefully have an oven that measures temperature in Celsius instead of Fahrenheit. Maybe I won’t get parked in all the time by my neighbours’ visitors. Maybe I’ll even have ceiling fans or air-con. When I’m not looking at the potential good of the whole situation, I have an existential crisis/emotional freak out. I am one of those people that feels like the prospect of owning my own house is a distant dream, becoming more distant as time goes on. I just want the freedom of owning my own place and having the calming knowledge that I have a permanent place to live.

Moving now does give me an opportunity to start assessing what I have and start clearing things out. I remember last time I moved that I was shocked by the amount of junk that I had apparently accumulated in the few years since I left home. Maybe I should read that book about the life changing magic of tidying up.. or whatever it’s called.

I have two problems: 1. Hoarding is in my genes. 2. I am an inherently messy person. Where the hoarding problem comes in is that I have trouble chucking out cardboard boxes. Not particularly useful boxes, either. Just boxes that small parcels come in. I think there’s a part of my brain that thinks there’ll be a use for them one day, but when that ‘one day’ will be is anyone’s guess. I’ll have to be brutal and just chuck out all the random things that I don’t actually need.

Meanwhile, I’ve been gradually going through my wardrobe and getting rid of things that I don’t wear frequently enough or I’m not fond of anymore. I do struggle with this sometimes because I’m never quite sure of what I’m supposed to do with things that are just starting to fall apart. I will donate them to my go-to charity and hope for the best with them. I also have a bunch of sheets and doona covers that I no longer need or want so, if they can go to other people with a need, I’ll feel much better.

I’ve also halfheartedly told myself to go on a spending hiatus. I say halfheartedly because I’ve impulse bought a few skincare products lately that I definitely didn’t need (I’ll be writing a post about these particular things shortly). For the most part, I’ve been pretty good though. It’s very interesting taking a look at what you spend your money on and whether you actually need those things. Sure, they’re nice, but they’re not necessary.

Anyway, I apologise for my long absence here. I’ve not been in a very good frame of mind lately and just haven’t found the inspiration to start typing away. Hopefully after the move I’ll be feeling less like the world is ending and start writing again.

Leave a Reply

