Hello New Year

18 Jan

New Year, new me. LOL, no, not really. It’s still the same old me, but looking forward to a fresh new year.

Are you into making resolutions or are you like me and a bit half-assed about it? I don’t exactly make resolutions because I am a procrastinator and I often don’t follow through with things. I have been known to find a to-do list many months later semi crumpled up with not a single item crossed off. They’re just not my thing. I like to make ‘goals’ or ‘aims’ instead.

This year my general aim is to just try to be a healthier, happier, and a little more sociable me. Nothing crazy like, “I’m going to work out three times a week, and meet up with people every weekend and do this and that and a bunch of other unattainable stuff”. I’m looking at realistic, attainable goals. Really, as long as 2016 doesn’t involve more surgery, it’s already an improvement on last year.

I’m planning on starting up yoga again once I get past the six week post-op recovery. I stuck with going to yoga regularly last year, only missing the weeks where I was ill, on holidays, or recovering from surgery. I’m really proud of that. I really enjoyed going to yoga last year and even invested in some good quality (although slightly garish) leggings for the classes. My class is very small. There were a good number of weeks where I was one on one with the instructor, but she is lovely, so I didn’t mind.

I’m also planning on trying pilates (at home), which is what I believe I planned to do last year before surgery number one. I think I might have done it about four times, had the surgery, and then never did again afterwards. Motivation was at an all time low. I subscribed to Blogilates on Youtube and the few workouts I did at the beginning of last year were excellent. Even if you’re time-poor or not the most motivated, you can find short but very effective workouts amongst her offerings.

I feel like if I get my fitness up and start to be more conscious about what I eat, that my mood will pick up a bit. I think, too, that by trying to be more sociable and getting ‘out there’ a little more, I will be less trapped in my own head space where I tend to obsess and get anxious about things… All the things… Less obsessing can only be a good thing.

Lastly, I’m going to try to be more careful about the things I purchase, be it skincare, cosmetics, clothing, or food. I want my home to be more streamlined and I want to be more clever about how I use things. Which brings me to what will probably be my next post–another product empties! All of my things seem to have run out at once.

So here’s to 2016 and all of its potential for good things to happen.

Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

