A review: 100% Pure Nourishing Body Lotion

20 Oct

I’m pretty lazy with the whole body moisturising thing. I find it to be a bit of a faff. It’s generally only when my limbs start resembling those of a reptile’s that I decide to bother with lotion.

IMG_1207

I went on a spending rampage months ago and stupidly bought three tubes of 100% Pure Nourishing Body Lotion–cocoa, vanilla and orange–pretty risky if didn’t like them. I gave the cocoa one to my sister and kept the two remaining ones for myself. Well, I was luckily and pleasantly surprised by how much I like them.

The ingredients list includes lovely ingredients such as aloe juice, rosewater, cocoa butter, avocado oil, rose-hip oil and blackcurrant seed oil. I mean, the list of ingredients is literally bursting with a bunch of skin-loving ingredients. To blatantly copy the blurb on the tube, it’s a “highly nourishing, luxurious cream concentrated with potent anti-aging antioxidants, vitamins, skin softening fruit oils and moisturising cocoa and avocado butters. Delicious smelling body cream will immediately hydrate, soften and feed your skin nutrients for a healthy, glowing complexion. Truly, 100% Pure – never use any artificial fragrances, synthetic chemicals, toxic preservatives, or any other unsafe ingredients. Made only with the highest quality, organic nutrients for your skin.”

Skin-loving ingredients and brand ethos aside, I’ve really enjoyed using this lotion. Its texture is the ‘Goldilocks’ of textures–not too thick, not too runny–although I definitely feel like the orange one is less viscous than the others. It takes a while to soak in the skin and kind of leaves a sheen as well. After it sinks in, it leaves my skin feeling hydrated and smooth. A decent 10-20 cent size blob is generous enough to cover a whole leg/both legs from the knees down.

My favourite of them all is the vanilla scent. I love it. I’ve only recently finally given up trying to squeeze out the last little bit of this from the tube. It was especially nice to use in the colder weather as the scent was sweet, warm and comforting, and the thicker consistency felt very nourishing on the skin. Hence why it would have ‘nourishing’ in its title, I guess.

I probably have about a quarter left of the orange one. I’m enjoying using this now that the warmer weather has arrived as it’s nice to put on in the morning as a fresh, citrusy wake up call in the morning. And, as the orange one also has a slightly runnier consistency than the other lotions, it’s better in the warmer months when you want a lighter fluid rather than a thick one that can sometimes feel a bit too sticky.

I’ve most recently purchased the coconut one which, according to the Nourished Life website, is a best seller. Now, call me crazy, but I think this scent smells like the Jelly Belly Toasted Marshmallow jelly beans. I just don’t know how I feel about having that scent linger on my body, but apparently a lot of people love it. Well, we all know that I am weird about how products smell.

I’ve found that the scent of the vanilla and coconut ones really sticks around for a while too, although that might have to do with me being acutely aware that I smell like a jelly bean.

Anyway…

I purchase mine from Nourished Life for $29.95AUD for 236mL (why not 240 or 235mL?). I think it might be pretty pricey for a body moisturiser but, if you consider that it’s not full of cheap ingredients, then maybe it’s worth the price? I’m not sure. Anyway, I’ll ignore the price and will probably be buying more tubes of it the near future… Basically when the vanilla one comes back in stock because I miss it.

What’s your favourite body lotion? Do you have a scent preference?

2 Responses to “A review: 100% Pure Nourishing Body Lotion”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Empties–products I’ve finished using #7 | bearinthere - 09/11/2015

    […] Lotion in Vanilla. I did a review on this lotion a couple of weeks back if you want to read more here. It needs to come back in […]

  2. Empties–products I’ve finished using #8 | bearinthere - 09/02/2016

    […] I liked this scent for the warmer weather and also for the fact that it was a little runnier than the others that I’ve had, so less cloying. I still have the coconut one left to use, but because I have […]

Leave a Reply

