A review : Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly

5 Oct

It’s rare these days that I try a new cleanser and immediately fall in love with it. Most times I either take an immediate dislike to one, or I just feel a bit underwhelmed by it. The Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanser Omega Cleansing Jelly falls into the rare “immediate love” category. I really, really love this stuff.

IMG_1204

We all know that I have a soft spot for the REN No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm so, a couple of months back when I was feeling a bit spendy, I purchased this Nude Skincare cleanser to see how it would compare.

The first time I used this, I felt like I had a light bulb moment. AHA! This stuff is amazing! It’s described on the Mecca site as ‘Rich in omegas, orange extract and annatto seed’ and ‘this natural cleanser dissolves impurities and melts away all traces of face and eye makeup’. I’ve never heard of an annatto seed or a couple of the other plant extracts listed in the ingredients. However, a quick google (yes, so reliable) seems to suggest that they’re little antioxidant powerhouses. I’m going to make a sweeping generalisation and say that you can basically assume that any plant seeds/roots/fruits that contain antioxidants are going to be classified as super-foods and should therefore be good for your skin both topically and internally.

This cleanser is called jelly, but I would say it has more of a balmy/oily texture. It’s not as thick as the REN Cleanser. As I would with most cleansers/balms, I use about a pea-sized amount and massage it into a dry face. At first it feels thick but it becomes slippery almost and really easy to move around once it warms up with the heat of my face and fingers. Then, I wet my fingers so that the balm emulsifies and turns into a milky substance. Depending on my mood, I will either wash this off with a face cloth or just rinse it off with water. Unlike the REN Cleanser, it doesn’t tend to leave any residue behind and it doesn’t sting like a mofo if you get any in your eyes. It does remove makeup like mascara really easily and other ‘traces of face and eye makeup’, although I’m probably not the best person to test this as I wear pretty minimal makeup.

The only issue I have with it is the scent and this is purely because I’m sensitive to smells. To me this has a slight jasmine scent (although I can’t see it on the list of ingredients), and I just personally don’t deal too well with jasmine as a fragrance. However, it’s not so strong or off-putting that it doesn’t make me want to use it regularly. If you have no problem with scents, you’ll be fine. It’s just me that’s weird.

Like any good cleanser, this leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed but not stripped. My face feels velvety soft after using this and I feel like my skin responds to it really well. Sometimes, if I’m feeling luxurious, I’ll do a double cleanse with this because it’s such a pleasure to use. At $56 for 100mL, it’s not the most purse-friendly skincare items. I’ve actually saved this as my ‘weekend’ cleanser because it is quite expensive and I want to make it last a long time. But good skin for the present and future is an investment, right? Right?

When I’m having another spendy skincare moment, I’ll probably be tempted repurchase this. However, it’s also made me want to try other more fancy cleansing balms. Let the cleanser ‘window-shopping’ begin…

One Response to “A review : Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Empties–products I’ve finished using #8 | bearinthere - 09/02/2016

    […] it can sting if you get it in your eyes. I also finished off my Nude Cleansing Jelly, which I did a review on late last year. This is also super expensive, but one of those luxurious products that lives up […]

Leave a Reply

