March Already?

11 Mar

Good gracious! How did it get to be March already? It feels like it was only just Christmas and I’ve blinked my eyes and we’re suddenly already almost a quarter of the way through 2015. I know it’s a cliché thing to say, but as I get older, I feel like time goes by more quickly.

I don’t know how many times I’ve started writing a new post in the past six weeks, but I’ve deleted them all in frustration. I’ve had a bit of a mental block recently–not liking anything that I’ve had to say, which is why you haven’t heard from me for a while. This is most probably to do with just a general lack of motivation and feeling a bit… crap.

You know how life sometimes gets a little overwhelming and out of your control, and all of a sudden you get the urge to change or do something drastic? Things like chopping all your hair off, dying it an unnatural colour, or quitting your job and travelling for six months? Yeah, I’ve had that urge lately. But, instead of doing any of the previously mentioned things, I’ve decided to have a clear out. This means clothes, cosmetics, general junk that I appear to have accumulated in the years since I’ve moved out of home. I think that once I’ve purged my apartment of a lot of unnecessary items, that I will feel less overwhelmed.

As for feeling crap-tastic, there are a few small things that I like to do to make myself feel better. I thought I might share these with you.

1. Give yourself a manicure/pedicure. I don’t actually like having my fingernails painted, but my toes? I’m all for it. Usually I go for colours that are in the red-pink-orange colour spectrum, but this week I’ve gone for pale pink for a change. It makes me realise how long it’s been since I’ve seen my toenails look remotely “nude”.
2. Go for a day out to a place that makes you happy. A couple of weekends back, my sister and I went for a day at the beach and it was fantastic. The coast will always be a happy place for me. I love the sun and floating out in the waves.
3. Read an old favourite book. I’m currently rereading a novel called the Masqueraders by one of my favourite authors, Georgette Heyer. Her romances are not quite your typical romances–there’s always a bit of wry humour snuck in there that particularly tickles my fancy.
4. Pamper yourself. This is along the same lines as point number one, but just taking some time out to do a face mask or body scrub does something to lift your spirits. I particularly enjoy body scrubs that have zingy citrusy or minty scents as they are very uplifting.

Ok. There we go.

Now I need to find some inspiration for some proper posts in the next couple of weeks.

Hope you’re all doing well!

Leave a Reply

