A review: Michael Todd True Organics Pumpkin Mask

11 Nov

You know how sometimes you feel and look a bit blah? Your complexion looks a bit grey and dull? I know I do. On these occasions, I like to crack out the Michael Todd True Organics Pumpkin Mask. The name is almost a novel in itself, isn’t it?

IMG_1075

I think I might have mentioned this mask in an Empties post a couple of months back, but not done an in-depth review. I first got this mask as part of a mini set when I first decided to try Michael Todd Products mid last year and have since bought another mini tube.

As the name would suggest, this mask obviously contains pumpkin and is touted to be an enzyme-AHA exfoliating treatment. So rather than using an abrasive physical scrub to exfoliate, this is a chemical treatment that dissolves dead skin cells to reveal a fresh layer of skin underneath. This also contains glycolic acid, which is a common chemical exfoliant.

So, how do you use it? In the evenings I quickly wash my face to get any of the day’s grime off like makeup and sweat. Then I smear a fairly liberal layer of this mask all over my face, making sure to avoid my eye area. I let it do its thing for about ten minutes and then rinse it off and apply all my usual evening skincare products, maybe making sure that I add an extra layer of some hydrating serum.

I can definitely feel this tingling, eating away at the crusty dead skin cells that are making my complexion look dull. This is why I think this is best used in the evenings because you’re basically removing a layer of skin and your skin is going to be a lot more sensitive to sunlight. And so, because it does such a good job, I wouldn’t leave this on for too much more than the recommended time. Your skin would probably get a bit irritated if you did that.

Once I’ve rinsed it off, my face feels squeaky clean, but not in the “oh my God, my face has been zapped of all its moisture” kind of way. It’s more of a new, fresh skin kind of feeling. Overnight, my skin kind of transforms as the fresh layer of skin reveals itself, and I wake up the next morning with a glowing complexion. I find that my face is ever so slightly greasier around the nose in the morning but I wash my face every morning so this doesn’t really concern me.

I would only ever use this once a week, twice if I was feeling adventurous. I reserve this really for the odd occasion when my complexion is having a bit of a “meh” moment and I need a bit of a pep up. Besides, you never want to over exfoliate your skin because it gets too sensitive and skin can be a fickle beast at the best of times. Also, be wary if you have any broken skin on your face because it will sting.

IMG_1078

This smells a lot like pumpkin pie. It is very bright orange, has a fairly thick consistency and applies well over the skin. It also rinses off cleanly, so you’re not rubbing away at your face trying to get rid of any residue.

Overall, I think it’s an effective mask and probably worth the mid-to-expensive price of $34USD for 100mL. It will last you a long time because it’s what I would call a “sometimes” product as I explained above. Would I purchase it again? Maybe. I wouldn’t say I am in a rush to repurchase it, as I have several other masks to experiment with now. However, I wouldn’t rule it out as a potential purchase in the future.

What are your favourite exfoliating masks?

Leave a Reply

