A review: Aesop Parsley Seed Cleansing Masque

3 Sep

In case you weren’t already aware, my favourite kind of mask is a clay mask. I have oily/combination skin and when my skin is feeling congested, I always like to crack out a good old clay mask.

I bought a tube of the Aesop Parsley Seed Cleansing Masque before Christmas last year; not because I needed it, but because I was intrigued. I’d read and heard that it was a clarifying clay mask that wasn’t too stripping on the skin. Sometimes clay masks can leave my skin feeling dehydrated, however, this mask is supposed to be much gentler without compromising on effectiveness.

IMG_1034

The week and weekend before last, I’d been a bit slack in the whole “eating well” thing and had basically consumed two entire packets of chocolate digestives by myself amongst other bad dietary decisions. I also didn’t drink much water over the weekend so, by Sunday afternoon, my face was starting to exhibit some indicators that I hadn’t been treating myself as I should. Now, I know that a clay mask wouldn’t magically counteract the damage that two packets of biscuits would have done to me internally–a healthy diet goes a long way towards the outer appearance and health of your skin. However, a topical treatment never goes astray when trying to remedy the situation on the surface of the skin.

IMG_1038

On that Sunday afternoon, I squeezed out the last bit of the Aesop mask and smeared it all over my face. Then I left it on for about ten minutes before I washed it off.

Holy blackheads, Batman!

Holy blackheads, Batman!

You can even see from the above photo that it absorbs excess oil very effectively (also, I apparently have an EPIC blackhead problem…). It doesn’t take long to dry and it rinses off cleanly without having to scrub away at your skin. Once the mask was rinsed off, my face was noticeably brighter and feeling less prickly and irritated. This is what I like about the mask–it has an immediate calming effect on my complexion. My skin also didn’t feel parched, but I still used all of my usual skincare products after I’d rinsed the mask off.

The thing I like about this mask is that it is not the type where it draws absolutely all of the impurities out of your skin and you’re left with a pimply aftermath in a few days’ time. Rather it seems to stop a potential breakout from going full steam ahead. It soothes an irritated complexion while also absorbing excess oil, so an excellent choice for skin having a PMS party (thanks, hormones).

Downsides? I can only find two. I’m not a huge fan of the smell, which is a herbal scent with a hint of lavender. The scent triggers a faint headachy feeling for me, but I’m fairly sensitive to a number of scents anyway. The other thing is the price. This is AUD $39 for just 60mL, which is very expensive compared to many other clay masks that I’ve tried.

I will potentially purchase this again sometime in the future, but for now I feel satisfied that I’ve used it up and have other things to test out.

What clay masks have you tried and which one is your favourite?

Leave a Reply

