Empties–products I’ve finished using #5

23 Jul

I’m feeling really proud of myself because I’m finishing up more and more bottles of stuff that I’ve had lying around for ages. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of satisfaction when you finish a bottle of something and then get to chuck it in the recycling.

IMG_0974

That bottle of Swisse Moisturiser has lasted me almost a year, albeit not with frequent use. I really like the formula of this moisturiser, and I have done a review on it here.

There are two mini tubes of Crabtree & Evelyn moisturiser that replaced my FAB moisturiser that I kept at work. I liked how they made my skin look and feel, but I ended up missing my FAB moisturiser, surprisingly enough. I think I just really like unscented hand moisturisers.

I had two Michael Todd serums. The first is the Carrot Serum, which I must have already thrown out because I can’t find it floating around anywhere. It was supposed to be targeted towards more oily skin, and I can understand why, as it wasn’t a greasy formula. I’m not sure how to adequately explain why I didn’t particularly like this serum. It didn’t feel very hydrating and actually made my skin feel like it needed a more heavy duty moisturiser whereas I thought that it should have made my skin feel… comfortable(?) without needing to use a serious moisturiser afterwards. Does that make sense?
The second is the Concentrated C serum which I have actually included in the photo above. When I bought it online I just assumed it would be for all skin types, but when I received the bottle it seemed to suggest that it wouldn’t be so good for those with oilier complexions. Strangely enough, I preferred this formulation to the Carrot Serum as it actually felt a lot more hydrating and it didn’t make my skin greasier at all.

I’m may not be 100% sold on any of the Michael Todd serums, but I do like their Blue Green Algae Antibacterial Toner. I did a review on it at the beginning of this year. I have forgotten how many bottles of this I have used now. In the next couple of weeks I’m going to have to make another order.

I also used this Michael Todd shower gel in Wild Rose Petal that was a free gift with one of my many purchases. It is a fairly pricey shower gel and, although it was lovely, I don’t think I would ever actually purchase it myself. There are equally nice shower gels out there that are less expensive.

The Milk & Co cleanser sitting up in the top left there finally ran out. As I said in my review of it, it was a bit of a “meh” product so I won’t be repurchasing it. I’m actually currently using an old love of mine that I reviewed almost two years ago. Oh, so many loves for REN’s No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm.

Then, there in the middle (sort of) there, is the LaVanila deodorant. Out of the many, many, many natural deodorants that I’ve tried in the past few years, this is by far… the second best. This was actually surprisingly good–I’ve become very wary after various bad experiences. It had a nice fresh scent that didn’t quite last throughout the day, but it wasn’t horrendous. It took me a good while to use it up too and so it should have because it is super expensive in Australia. I still love my MooGoo deodorant–it is so much cheaper and is far more effective on my armpits than anything else I’ve tried.

To the right is my Klorane Dry Shampoo. I’ve been using Klorane for years as it doesn’t have an offensive smell, doesn’t contain talc, and is pretty effective. However, recently I’ve been itching to try something new. I made a mistake, though, and bought something that makes me feel like I’m choking because the scent is super strong. Does anyone know of any good dry shampoos?

The minty coloured tube there is an EOS lip balm… and is mint flavoured. WHO’D HAVE GUESSED THAT? I love EOS lip balms so much because they have no nasties in them and they feel really good on the lips. They are my favourite ever balms and I managed to restock my stash of them on my recent holiday to the USA, which made me very happy.

Next to that is my trusty Hydraluron. I’ve also forgotten how many tubes of this I have gone through. I actually have three tubes of it floating around in my bedroom and bathroom. Something tells me that I haven’t done a proper review on it, but I may in the future.

Last, but not least, is a tiny little tube of some Caudalie Vinosource moisturiser that came in a mini pack I bought some months ago. I quite liked this moisturiser, but it was a bit hard to get a proper “feel” for it as there wasn’t that much product in there. I may try the full size at some point in the future, but I’m in no rush.

Phew, that was a lot of stuff. It was very satisfying tipping all of those bottles into the recycling bin. Now, onto the next batch!

Leave a Reply

