A review: Michael Todd Organics Blue Green Algae Toner

5 Jan

I’ve never been totally convinced that a toner is a necessity in any skincare regimen. In highschool I used to use the old faithful witchhazel, but in the last decade I’ve probably purchased a toner fewer than five times.

That has changed in the last six months. Several YouTube gurus had been talking about how good the Michael Todd Organics Blue Green Algae Toner was, so naturally I wanted to give it a go. I was not disapppointed.

This toner is organic, alcohol-free and antibacterial, so an excellent product if your skin likes to play up and break out all the time. It has a lovely herbal and lavender scent, which evokes a somewhat soothing feeling whenever you use it.

I use this toner morning and night by wetting a cotton pad and swiping it all over my face, neck and chest after I have cleansed my skin. It’s always interesting to see how much makeup residue is still on your skin, even if you’ve doubled cleansed. Then I put on my moisturiser and I’m good to go.

In the past when I’ve used toner (especially ones that contain alcohol), my skin has felt tight and irritated. Being the oily person that I am, my skin always felt the need to overcompensate by producing even more sebum. Hooray! That’s exactly what I try to avoid! This toner doesn’t do that to my skin. While I still feel like I need to moisturise after I use it, I never get that really uncomfortable feeling you get when you’ve really dried your skin out.

I’ve noticed these days that my skin is a lot calmer than it used to be. I would say that this has a lot to do with changes in my diet, drinking more water, and various other skincare products in my regimen, but I do credit this toner to have helped in the turnover in my skin’s behaviour.

I’ve been so impressed with it that I’ve even purchased a second bottle, and purchasing a second lot of any item for me doesn’t happen that often. I buy mine directly from the Michael Todd website, because it conveniently ships to Australia for a pretty decent shipping cost. The products are not the cheapest, but there are often good sales and the products last a long time, so I think that they’re worth it.

One Response to “A review: Michael Todd Organics Blue Green Algae Toner”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Empties–products I’ve finished using #5 | bearinthere - 23/07/2014

    […] any of the Michael Todd serums, but I do like their Blue Green Algae Antibacterial Toner. I did a review on it at the beginning of this year. I have forgotten how many bottles of this I have used now. In […]

Leave a Reply

