A review: Lavilin Roll-on Deodorant

16 Oct

A couple of months ago, a reader recommended that I try this Lavilin Deodorant, seeing as I have this ongoing issue with natural deodorants. I got quite enthusiastic, but may or may not have had this brand confused with LaVanila Deodorant, and purchased the LaVanila one before I realised I’d been a bit dyslexic.

For those who are curious about the LaVanila deodorant, I’ll do a review on it after this review.

So, when I finally realised my mistake and managed to find somewhere that had Lavilin deodorant in stock and that would deliver to Australia, I ended up having to purchase three bottles as there was a three-for-two offer. Living in Australia is kind of annoying when trying to buy certain products.

Lavilin deodorant says that you only need to apply it once every three days, that it’s water resistant and has no aluminium or alcohol in it. Sounds pretty amazing, right? It was definitely up my alley, because I find applying deodorant to be quite a chore and I get annoyed when my armpits are still damp and sticky when I want to put my clothes on. Plus, how amazing would that be if you were travelling somewhere and this deodorant kept you fresh as a daisy for three days? If you’ve ever been on a long haul flight, you’ll know that you don’t emerge at the other end looking, feeling, or smelling great. And, if you do, I hate you. (Also, what’s your secret?)

Anyway, the package arrived a couple of weeks ago, and the first thing I noticed was the clean, sweet smell and how it reminded me of my childhood. This may sound weird, but it struck me that it smells like what Pantene Shampoo used to smell like in the early 90’s. Is that a weird thing to remember?

Well, I coated my armpits with this stuff on what happened to be the hottest day so far in Spring–a whopping 32 degrees Celsius–so I was crossing my fingers and toes that it would hold up against the heat. By midday I started to notice that the sweet smell of the deodorant was starting to smell sour and my heart sank. It was going to be a repeat of that time I tried the Lavera deodorant and then got so upset with how bad I smelled, that I felt like crying.

The next day I brought my MooGoo deodorant to work with me in case I started to smell, and I ended up having to use it. I repeated this testing process another two times but, by midday each day, I was starting to become acutely aware of the sour smell and still had to use the MooGoo deodorant as a backup.

I’m actually quite sad about it all, especially as I now have three bottles of it at home and I’m too scared to try to use them. And it’s not so much the deodorant that I’m disappointed in, but my armpits, because no on else seems to have the same problems with deodorants like I do. I really think it’s the scent thing that my armpits seem to rebel against. I’m not generally a very smelly person, but I don’t smell fabulous either after a long day. It’s only when I use certain deodorants that more often than not are scented that I do become smelly. If you could see smells when I use these deodorants, my armpits would have little greeny-brown fume clouds hanging about them.

Despite my disappointment, I will say that I was impressed with the staying power of this deodorant. It definitely does stay put for more than two days. I imagine that if you didn’t have rebellious armpits like mine, that you would feel pretty confident testing this deodorant out. The other thing going for it is the fact that it doesn’t have any alcohol or aluminium in it, so you know that you’re not blocking your glands and stopping them from doing what they’re supposed to.

Sadly, I don’t think I will continue to use the Lavilin deodorant. I will return to my old faithful MooGoo deodorant which never seems to fail me.

Have you ever tried it? I’m interested to see whether anyone else has the same issues that I do.

14 Responses to “A review: Lavilin Roll-on Deodorant”

  1. amber 16/10/2013 at 12:31 pm #

    I wouldn’t mind giving this one a go. I don’t think that the Lavera fail was your fault. I can’t use that one either, and I generally don’t have problems with BO or weird smells or whatever.

    • bearinthere 16/10/2013 at 12:37 pm #

      If you like it, you can have all three botttles of it! Or you can donate them to someone who doesn’t have armpits like mine.

  2. Yasmine 17/10/2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Lovely blog, nice to see other bloggers doing good reviews

  3. Reviving Traditions 26/03/2014 at 7:57 am #

    Hey I am in AU for just a few days. Where can I buy moogoo? You’re not the only one with green clouds 😉 pls email me at revivingtraditionsblog [at] gmail [dot] com if u know of a store. I can go to the city or parramatta. Thanks do much!

    • bearinthere 26/03/2014 at 8:32 am #

      I would look for either a Terry White Chemist or a Healthy Life Store. They’re where I usually find MooGoo. Good luck and I hope you enjoy your stay!

  4. JC Corres 28/06/2014 at 8:54 am #

    On my quest to find the right natural deodorant, I’ve been searching for various reviews on Lavilin. Yours is the fifth review that I’ve read; three of the other reviews said Lavilin worked wonderfully; the fourth review stated that Lavilin turned out to be a horrible experimentation. Seems so far that it’s 3-2 on personal reviewers for Lavilin. I can say that no deodorant is perfect for everyone! I know it’s been a while since you’ve written this review, but do you by chance still use MooGoo right now? If not, what deodorant do you use if you don’t mind me asking:). Thanks!

    • bearinthere 28/06/2014 at 10:44 am #

      Hello! Yes, I still use MooGoo these days. It’s the only deodorant that seems to work for me. The only gripe I have with it is that it becomes a little less effective towards the end of the bottle. Otherwise, it only gets thumbs up for me 🙂

      • JC Corres 08/07/2014 at 7:50 am #

        That’s wonderful to hear that it still works for you!:) It’s unfortunate that MooGoo isn’t being sold by Amazon:( it seems that I’ll have to find other means of finding it! Do you have any specific place on where I could purchase it

      • bearinthere 08/07/2014 at 2:58 pm #

        I think it depends where you are? Because it’s a pretty small company, I’m pretty sure that they don’t have any international stockists. You can buy directly from their site: http://moogoo.com.au/deodorant.html/ and they ship internationally as far as I’m aware. I hope that helps!

  5. Claire 14/04/2016 at 10:39 am #

    Hi! If you still have the lavilin I’d love to try it, I’m in Perth. Allergic to all antiperspirants I’ve tried, they work but give me an itchy rash. Tried several natural ones without luck – currently on norwex crystal after being on other crystals. Get in touch if you want the lavilin off your hands! Mizzfunny at gmail dot com

    • bearinthere 14/04/2016 at 11:08 am #

      Aw I’ve already given it all away. How do you like the norwex crystal deodorant? I haven’t had much luck with crystal deodorants–I tend to only use the MooGoo one these days.

  6. Brittany 17/05/2017 at 1:31 am #

    I’ve been using Lavilin for a couple years now and would never switch to anything else. Literally use it once or twice a week, as needed and before, I tried like 50 natural deodorants that wouldn’t last through the day.
    Lavilin works by making the environment under your armpits unfavorable to the bacteria that makes body odour. Meaning you eventually don’t produce a smell because the bacteria that usually make it don’t live under your armpits. So, bear in mind that making the switch to Lavilin can be kind of a 2 week commitment. They say not to use any other kinds of deodorants because that causes bacteria growth.
    I find it much less effective if I apply it while my armpits are wet at all or if they already have an odour or too much hair there. So I tend to shave (this really cuts down on smell), wash and dry my pits really well and then apply. You want to be clean and dry.
    It takes a couple weeks for the environment under your pits to change so you might have to reapply more frequently when you first get on the product. I found hand sanitizer highly effective to immediately get rid of any stink. A quick wipe with some hand sanitizer and you can reapply to a clean, stink-free surface.
    Just a note, because I had similar feelings the first day but it came so highly recommended that I stuck with it and now preech to everyone I know about how awesome it is.

    • Brittany 17/05/2017 at 1:33 am #

      Also, don’t use the roll-on one, they sell a cream. That’s the stuff to buy. Comes in a little container that looks like a makeup compact

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: LaVanila Deodorant | bearinthere - 05/11/2013

    […] other week I did a review on the Lavilin Deodrant, which unfortunately was not a winner for me. I did mention that I had been momentarily confused […]

Leave a Reply

