Empties–products I’ve finished using #2

18 Aug

I’ve made a half-assed promise to myself in the past couple of days that I really can’t buy any new skincare products or make-up until I’ve used up all the things that I’ve bought in the past couple of months.

For some reason, I decided to buy a 250mL bottle of body cream while I was away in Tasmania, when I already had two tubs sitting at home ready for my use. I obviously can’t control myself when I see something that takes my fancy.

But now I’m getting excited about the prospect of using things up and chucking the empties out. I haven’t got many to show you this time, but I’m itching to feel the satisfaction of throwing them in the bin.

IMG_20130818_161405

First up is this First Aid Beauty Detox Eye Roller. I’m still not convinced about the necessity of eye creams or treatments. I’m not sure what I can say about this product. While I thought this was good, I don’t think I found that this had too noticeable difference to the puffiness of my eyes or particularly moisturising. I genuinely think if I had a better relationship with sleep and drank more water, that my under eye bags would be less noticeable.

Next up is this SW Basics toner that was a free gift when I ordered a cleansing balm (OMG, smells so delicious) a couple weeks back. It’s got good things in it like apple cider vinegar and witch hazel, and is refreshing to spritz on my face after cleansing and before moisturising my skin. I like toners like this that are no-frills, no-nasties and don’t strip my skin of its natural oils. The smell isn’t too terrific, but that’s probably due to the aforementioned apple cider vinegar and witch hazel. This still gets a thumbs up.

Thirdly, is the Natures Organics Clear-skin Cleanser. I think my sister purchased this a long time ago for a few bucks at either Coles or Woolworths and left it behind at my old place. It’s made its way into my bathroom and I’ve been using it in the mornings as my cleanser. This is a no-frills cleanser–it has no scent and is safe for sensitive skin. I’ve found that it hasn’t done anything crazy to my finicky skin, so that’s a plus. It also rinses clean without feeling like your face is squeaky and stripped. If you’re looking for a cheap cleanser, you might want to look out for this one.

Lastly, is this Michael Todd Pumpkin Nutrient-rich Facial Mask. This came as part of a travel pack that I purchased before heading to Tasmania. A more in-depth review will come later, but I just wanted to point this one out for the moment. It’s surprising how many uses you can get out of a 30mL sample. This stuff smells a little bit like pumpkin pie and has a slightly grainy/gritty texture that I’m not too crazy about. However, the morning after you use this, your skin is glowing. If you feel like your skin needs a little pick-me-up, then I would recommend this. You can feel it working, but it’s not at all a harsh product. I have a feeling that I’ll be repurchasing more Michael Todd products in the future. In fact, I have another, larger, sample of this ready once I’ve properly finished this one.

Well, it’s just those four for now. Look out for a review later for the rest of the Michael Todd Products and for the cleansing balm that I recently bought. I think I might love it even though I’ve only been using it for a few weeks.

And now, to bed I go.

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

