My Recent Purchases

19 May

This past week has been a bit rough–I spent two and a half days at home sick with what can only be described as a foul stomach virus. I haven’t felt that bad in a long, long time.

So, to cheer myself up and to make up for my tardiness recently, I thought I’d share with you my most recent online purchases.

Last week at work (pre-gastro-horror), three parcels arrived. It made me look like I have some kind of addiction and I was a little bit embarrassed. But then the embarrassment subsided when the excitement took over about all the new things I could experiment with.

IMG_20130518_160138

As you can see from my not very good photo, there is quite an assortment of things. I’ll start from left to right.

First is the Anthony Logistics for Men deodorant. Yes, it’s a men’s deodorant and no, I don’t care. It smells inoffensive… Kind of citrussy and herbal. I’ve used it a few times now and I actually quite like it. However, I don’t know if it will completely replace my MooGoo deodorant.

Next is the Bare Minerals Ready Touch Up Veil. It actually has a longer name, but who can be bothered? It’s SPF 15 and gives my skin a nice matte, even finish, which I like. I got this because I am intrigued by the brand and I wondered if it would be better than the Nude by Nature’s Mineral Veil, which is what I’ve been using for the past two years. Time will tell.

Next you will see a teeny tiny bottle. This is the Perricone MD No Concealer Concealer. When I opened my box and found this inside I was a bit, “WTF?!? What is this? A foundation for ants?”. It is so small. It turns out that in my late night shopping euphoria, I bought the concealer and not the foundation. And it is a ridiculously expensive concealer. I kind of was a bit disappointed when I realised what I’d done, but it has surprised me by being pretty damn good. It blends really, really well into the skin and is a good match and doesn’t do all that irritating creasing crap that usually happens when I use liquid products. I’ll do a review on this probably at some point in the future.

Next up is the Borghese Fango Mud Mask. I bought this because I heard about it from a British beauty guru who said it got rid of her blackheads. Gross, but I was sold. It is a quick mask–one you can pop on in the shower–and quite effective. You can say that I’m already a fan.

I bought a new pair of Tweezerman tweezers because they are the best tweezers in the world. My sister bought me some a few years back and they are my favourite, so who wouldn’t want a second pair?

Hiding in the back there is the Michael Todd Kaolin Clay Mask. Why do I need a second clay/mud mask? I DON’T KNOW. I just wanted to try it and I have a strange obsession with mud masks. I haven’t tried this yet, but I am looking forward to it. Don’t judge me…

Next is the Peter Thomas Roth Instant Mineral SPF30. This also surprised me by being so small. For some reason I imagined it would be much, much bigger. Who knows what my late night brain was thinking… I digress. I am pretty lazy when it comes to applying sunscreen every day, so I thought that this would make things much easier. Apart from having issues figuring out how to put the cap on (don’t ask) and a slightly scratchy brush, this has proven to be a delight. I can just swish this all over my face and neck and I can feel better that I won’t be getting all crispy and burnt in the future.

In the silver tube there is the Eyeko Curvy Brush Mascara. This is the second Eyeko mascara that I’ve purchased and I’m a fan. Eyeko does tubing mascaras, so they’re smudge and water resistant. I had a bit of a (big and embarrassing) cry today and this didn’t budge a bit.

Lastly, another Michael Todd purchase. This is a travel size skincare range for normal to oily skin. I bought it mainly to test out the Blue Green Algae Toner, which I’ve heard many good things about. I haven’t tested it yet, so that’s still to come.

And that, my friends, is it. Sorry for the ramble, but I thought I should say hi and kind of give you an update. There should be a few reviews coming out from these purchases, so keep a look out for those.

And with that, and the fact that it is just on midnight as I’m finishing writing this, I’ll bid you adieu.

PS. Here’s a cute picture of my cat who “helped” me take the photo of all the products this afternoon.

IMG_20130518_160022

Leave a Reply

