A tour through the Islands

3 Apr

It feels like Summer has tried to have one last hurrah this week. It’s been muggy, sunny, and we’ve even had storms the last two Sundays. This is my kind of weather. I’ll miss it when it the cooler weather really sets in.

All this warmer weather reminded me that I totally forgot to finish talking about my trip to Thailand last year. That was over six months ago. My bad.

So, where were we?

The day after we went bathing with elephants, my three travel companions and I went on a boat tour around Phang Nga Bay, which is in the Andaman Sea (for those playing at home). We originally wanted to go to Koh Phi Phi, but the weather wasn’t suitable at that time. So we opted for this tour instead and we were not disappointed.

Well, we were delighted to find out that it was just going to be us four on the tour, so we could really relax and enjoy ourselves. We also had the same guide that we had for the elephant trek, a boat driver and another guy who paddled us around when we got to a couple of the stops.

We went to three places. First off was James Bond Island, next was the donut islands where we canoed around, and then we stopped for lunch before heading home at a semi-floating village and got to wander around the markets for a while. We were lucky when we were paddling around the donut islands in that we came at just the right time–all the bigger groups were either in front or behind us–so we largely got to marvel at the beauty with just the six of us in our two red canoe things.

Instead of my waffling on for ages, I’m just going to let the photos do the talking. Hopefully they do the day some sort of justice–sometimes you just have to see it with your own eyes to appreciate the beauty of a place.

P1010295

P1010311

P1010327

P1010341

P1010348

P1010393

P1010403

P1010409

P1010439

Spot the monster's face.

Spot the monster’s face.

Spot King Kong's face.

Spot King Kong’s face.

P1010461

P1010473

P1010482

So there you have it. If you’re over that side of Thailand, I would definitely recommend this as a day tour. I hope you enjoyed the photos.

2 Responses to “A tour through the Islands”

  1. amber 04/04/2013 at 10:19 am #

    The colour of the water is AMAZING. I want to go to there.

    • bearinthere 04/04/2013 at 10:07 pm #

      I think the water is that colour because there is more salt in it? I could be making that up… But it was beautiful. Next time I go to Thailand, you’ll have to come with me.

Leave a Reply

