A review: Korres Pomegranate Travel Set

3 Feb

Before Christmas, I went a little bit crazy with the online shopping thing. This wouldn’t have been so much of a problem if most of the items were for other people and not for me. I bought myself quite a few skincare related Christmas presents… Woops.

One of the items I bought for myself was a little travel set from Korres. It’s the Pomegranate line, which is mainly targeted at oily skin. It contains five products–a cleansing scrub, a white tea gel cleanser, a clay mask, a moisturising cream-gel, and an evening primrose eye cream.

P1010640

Oily skin, you say. I have oily skin! What a coincidence!

I’ve been testing these out (some more than others) and am so far quite liking two products in particular.

The first is the eye cream. Being in my mid-twenties, I haven’t really ever seen the need to use an eye cream. I don’t have wrinkles except for a pesky crease under each eye, which I’m pretty sure everyone has(?). I mean, sure, I’ve used an eye roller thing a long time ago from Garnier, but never really saw or felt any benefit and ended up chucking it out. So when I started using the eye cream, I was a little bit dubious about what results I would get. I’ve actually been pleasantly surprised. I can’t say whether it’s fixed any wrinkles, but I can say that I don’t seem to be as puffy under the eyes as I usually am.

The other product I like most is the clay mask. You ought to know by now that I’m a sucker for a good clay mask. This one doesn’t have an overly thick consistency. I smear a thin layer over a freshly washed face, let it dry and then wash it off again. You know that feeling you get when you get out of a cold shower after a hot and sticky day? That’s how my skin feels after using the mask. It feels clean and refreshed and I like that.

The three remaining products are the scrub, the gel cleanser and the moisturising cream-gel. I haven’t used these ones extensively so I can’t really say whether I think they’re amazing or not. I’m kind of a little bit on the fence.

I tend to steer clear of mechanical scrubs these days. This is mainly because that gritty texture can wreak havoc on your skin if you’re too aggressive with it… like I might be. That scrubbing sensation can be addictive. That being said, this one feels nice and creamy and would be absolutely fine if I was gentle with how I used it.

The gel cleanser might be a little bit too effective with the removal of oil for my liking. It leans towards that tight and squeaky clean result when all of the oils are stripped from your face. But, this is great after those hot and sticky days I mentioned before because it feels like it removes all that filmy, sweaty grime that accumulates on your face.

Lastly, the cream-gel moisturiser. I’ll confess that I just used it for the first time tonight and I used it over the top of my MooGoo moisturiser. My first impression is that it has a nice fluid texture–not too thick and not watery–and seems to sink into the skin well. It feels very hydrating without feeling like my face will be a oily mess within half an hour.

P1010639

Now, my one main gripe is that all the products are pretty heavily scented. It’s not that they don’t smell nice. It’s that the scent is pretty powerful and seems to linger for some time. This probably wouldn’t bother a lot of people, but my nose is pretty sensitive to perfumes. Most of the skincare products I use these days aren’t scented at all, or smell like some kind of plant (like eucalyptus), so a “manufactured” smell is a little out of my comfort zone. Other than that, I don’t have any real complaints.

Final thoughts? Well, I’m intrigued by Korres as I’ve heard many good things about them–they’re a Greek brand and focus on natural skincare without any parabens or silicones. Kudos to them (ey, ey, see what I did there?). I think this is a pretty nifty little travel set, especially for these hot Summer months and for someone who is an oily monster like me. All of the line have a lovely, light texture. However, I probably wouldn’t go out and buy the full size of these products. Well… Maybe the clay mask or the eye cream, but not before I try some other things first.

I’ll give this set three and a half out of five happy faces.

Leave a Reply

