Patrick and other strange events

19 Jan

Hey guys!

IMG_20130119_013615

So, this furry friend invited himself into my apartment at 1am this morning and helped himself to the sweet potato I had sitting in my fruit bowl on my bench. I caught him in the flashlight from my new phone figuratively red-handed and shooed him out gently. (I did try to take a photo of him on the bench, but ended up taking six black photos because I couldn’t initially figure out how to turn on the flash as I don’t actually know how to use my new phone properly yet.)

IMG_20130119_013727

Anyway, I’ve named him Patrick. Patrick could possibly be a Patricia, but I’m just going to assume it’s a him for now. He is the fattest possum I have ever come across in my life and he is also surprisingly adventurous and tame. Once I’d shooed him out, he tried to come in again while I was standing at the balcony door keeping guard. I shut him out and then lay awake for another hour because of all the excitement.

Patrick came into the apartment last week too, but I didn’t catch him that time. All I knew was that I heard a noise in the middle of the night, the cat was staring at something and that a massive chunk of olive sourdough was missing in the morning. I found the remains on my balcony after a brief panic that I had been sleep-eating for the first time in my life. Patrick ate the bit of bread that had the most olives in it. He has excellent taste.

I’m half expecting him to make some future visits, though I’m not sure how comfortable I am with this arrangement…

In other news, my rear view mirror fell off my windscreen for the second time in six months today. Embarrassingly, I didn’t notice straight away that it was missing. I was a few minutes into the drive when I noticed more space on the windscreen and was like, “Hey, where’s my mirror?”.

IMG_20130119_131217

The last time this happened was a few days after my car was broken into at the end of July last year. I suspect the ridiculously hot weather today made the adhesive lose its stickiness and it just sort of… plopped off… while I was at church this morning with my cousin. The cap thing on the top of my gear stick also decided to come off.

And lastly, this happened recently.

IMG_20130119_165930

This isn’t even the whole order. Friends, this is what happens when you’re alone late at night, browsing the internet for all the things that you would like and you have no self control. I think I have a problem.

I have given a couple of things away to various family members, so it wasn’t all for me… I swear.

I was most excited about these things from Urban Decay. They’re the Naked Basics shadow palette and two 24/7 eye liners–one a navy/purple colour and the other a nice, deep brown.

IMG_20130119_170009

I’m sure I will write a review on some of these products in the future, so look out for those. I’ve already decided I’m quite pleased with all of my purchases. However, that probably doesn’t bode well for any future late night “browsing”.

And speaking of late nights, I should get to bed. Hopefully I won’t have any unexpected late night visitors tonight.

Here’s to hoping. Goodnight!

5 Responses to “Patrick and other strange events”

  1. Heidielka 23/01/2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Aww! Patrick is cute. And now you have two furry creatures to keep you company – Patrick and Bella.

    • bearinthere 25/01/2013 at 7:52 am #

      I think Bella is either scared or fascinated with Patrick. She sort of just stares at him from a distance. He is rather cute for a food thief.

      • Heidielka 26/01/2013 at 12:33 am #

        Bella probably wishes she had the guts to escape like he does. Or maybe envies his ability to get food for himself, instead of incessantly begging for it 😉

      • bearinthere 26/01/2013 at 7:17 pm #

        I think she is too preoccupied with food to want to escape plus I think she loves her mumma too much 😉

      • Heidielka 28/01/2013 at 12:49 am #

        And why wouldn’t she – you’re a pretty cool cat 😉

Leave a Reply

