Luxury in Khao Lak

7 Nov

I thought it was about time I shared with you about my most recent trip to Thailand. And what is a better place to start than the beginning?

Let’s begin with our stay in Khao Lak.

I’ll be honest and admit that I actually didn’t know where we were or where Khao Lak was for pretty much the entire time I was there. Geography has never been my strong point. I did discover that it was about an hour/hour-and-a-half away from Phuket when we got picked up from the airport because we then had another unexpected hour of driving to the hotel. This just happened to be after about 20 hours of flights and travel already.

(Funny side note–I comically almost strangled myself at a baggage check in between flights. I must have absent-mindedly tied my hoodie ties over my bag strap because there was one very confusing tangle when I tried to take my bag off to get scanned. Then I misunderstood the lady asking for my jacket, thinking she was asking for my ticket, which then amused all of us even more. I’m sure my near accidental strangulation was the highlight of that lady’s day.)

Once we finally arrived at Khao Lak, more specifically the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa, we initially felt quite out of place. We’d arrived at this resort looking tired and dishevelled, which was in stark contrast to our oppulent and classy surroundings.

Imagine this turning up at your fancy hotel in the middle of the night. Crest hair, I like to call it. I think it is impossible to look good whilst travelling.

You can look at the website for the hotel itself, linked above, to see just how amazing it is. We four were in two double rooms on one of the wings. From our balconies we had a lovely view of some of the swimming pool “lagoon”. Even our rooms were simple yet incredibly elegant. I could totally have lived in my room forever if it also had a kitchen and laundry. The bed was comfy, there was a lounge area, a tv, a desk–everything you could ask for. And the bathroom, oh, the bathroom. It was fabulous.


The only thing that I didn’t understand apart from the air-conditioning controls (seriously, BRRRR!!!) was the phone in the toilet. My cousin first discovered it and yelled out from the bathroom, “Sarah… There’s a phone in the toilet!”. It bemused us both. Why would someone be sitting on the toilet having a conversation with someone else? Isn’t that bad etiquette? Even if you know someone really well, I think toilet phone calls enter some bizarre personal comfort territory that only few relationships can go to. I have since found out by my more couth co-worker that phones in toilet cubicles are present in pretty much all fancy establishments for safety reasons. Apparently lots of people have heart attacks while sitting on the toilet, so the phone is there if they need urgent medical help. Either that or they fancy some room service?

“Yes, hello. Room Service?”

If you’re looking for wild parties, chaos and lots of people, this isn’t the place for you. I suspect it is actually the kind of area that retirees and young families go to, which just happens to be right up my alley! I did once have to practise my ridiculously bad German skills to ask a fellow holiday-maker which way the Thai restaurant was in the complex. He pointed us in the wrong direction…

(I made the mistake of ordering a spicy green papaya salad at that restaurant. My mouth tasted like burning for about two hours afterwards and I’m sure steam was coming out of my face. Note to self–Thai version of spicy is different from Sarah’s version of spicy.)

Normally this hotel would have been out of our price range, but we had found a two-for-one deal online. I say we, but I mean my cousin. This deal also came with complimentary hour-long massages (which we didn’t get a chance to redeem) and a free breakfast buffet. Oh my goodness, the breakfast buffet was amazing. The three mornings that we were there we were like children in a candy wonderland, except it was a continental breakfast buffet. What can I say? Food excites us.

I’m not sure what else to tell you in this mish-mash of a post about our stay in the Marriott. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful, the complex itself was stunning, and the atmosphere radiated relaxation and peace. When I go back to Thailand again, I will definitely save my dollars so that I can stay there again if I choose to visit Khao Lak and Phuket once more.

One Response to “Luxury in Khao Lak”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bathing with Elephants « bearinthere - 22/11/2012

    […] the morning after we arrived in Khao Lak, we wandered around investigating the grounds of our hotel complex and then decided to locate the Tour Desk. Within a very short space of time we’d organised […]

Leave a Reply

