Hair Change

31 Oct

I got my hair cut this afternoon. After my last hair cut at the place I’ve been going to for the past three years, I felt a little despondent. It just wasn’t the same warm atmosphere with the new owner and I missed my old hairdresser(s).

I’d been thinking about trying somewhere new for a while, but it filled me with so much anxiety and guilt. I’d been going to my old place for three years. I didn’t know if anyone else could be trusted or would be just as good as my old faithfuls. But I really didn’t particularly want to go back to the scary new owner of my old salon.

Coincidentally, just as I was thinking to myself last week that I really needed to get a trim, one of my colleagues came into my office and handed me a couple of business cards. These were for a salon called Azorah that just happens to be down the road from work. I decided to check out its website.

As I said before, I was getting desperate for a trim. On Monday I ended up using a bulldog clip to pin my outrageously long fringe back. So, I decided to bite the bullet and ring up and book myself in for today.

This is the result:

My hairdresser, Jasmine, did exactly what I wanted. She didn’t even make me feel bad for being so useless with my lack of hairstyling skills or the fact that I trimmed my own fringe out of desperation about six weeks back. She sympathised with me about how thin both our hair is and told me that a blunt finish would be better so that my hair would appear thicker. I just let her do her thing and was not disappointed.

She didn’t even charge me extra for straightening my hair like she was supposed to. That’s super nice. I think she was just really excited and pleased with the results so much so that she didn’t want to charge more. And, my hair was ridiculously soft and smooth afterwards.

The other thing I liked was that it was friendly and open. Jasmine was lovely, chatty and not patronising in the way that some hairdressers are and make you feel like shiz because you don’t style your hair. Azorah even offers you a beverage while you’re getting your hairs taken care of, which was one of the things I loved about my old salon. I do like a coffee while I’m getting a haircut. It feels like more of a luxurious experience somehow.

The only thing I didn’t like was the website’s online booking system–tres confusing. Or maybe I’m just useless with those kinds of online things. Ringing just felt more straightforward and fuss-free.

So, I am booked in again for just before Christmas so that I can look all fresh and amazing for the festive season. Is it weird that I’m already excited about it?

Just one more shot, sans glasses, to show you the ‘do. I’m mighty pleased with it, as you may have guessed. If you’re in Brisbane and on the lookout for a new salon, maybe you should give this place a try?

Leave a Reply

