I can has a kitty

8 Sep

Well, well, well. There has been an addition to the Bear’s household so that the number of occupants here is now… er… two. I have adopted a cat and am fullfulling my destiny of becoming a crazy cat lady. Seriously, my friends, family and I have been predicting this for years.

Her name is Snowbell… I don’t know why she was named Snowbell because she is black with a couple of white splodges on her belly and all her feet look like she’s wearing white slippers. At the moment I’m toying with shortening her current name to Bella as that is apparently what she answers to. However, I’ve been making kissing noises at her and calling her kitty for the past week and that seems to have worked so far.

Snowbell is a Devon Rex. She has really short fur that is actually curly and surprisingly soft, about three short whiskers and a pair of really wide-set eyes. She is not the prettiest cat ever, but she is rather cute.

I “rescued” her from some pretty crappy circumstances. I’ve been told that she spent the Winter in a chicken coop, which would be horrible enough, but she has such short fur that she would have been freezing the entire time. My mother also told me that she was probably not fed consistently and properly over the years, so she has a tendency to gobble up everything she sees. It will probably take me a little while to figure out a good “diet” regime. That’s not saying that I’m into enforcing a diet onto a cat but, you know, I don’t want to let her become super obese or two skinny because I’m not feeding her properly.

We’ve come to an agreement on our sleeping arrangement now. The first couple of nights weren’t that great. This was primarily because she took up the entire centre of the bed and I had to figure out a way of fitting on the edges somehow. For such a small cat, she took up a lot of space. Now we sleep side by side mostly and this works much better.

At first I was a little bit torn about getting a cat of my own. Now that I have her, I don’t regret it at all. Now I have someone to talk to in the evenings other than myself. She’s like a compact little personal heater too, which will be great in the warmer months. Plus now, I have something that I can share my love with and know that she will love me back. ‘Tis kind of sweet, don’t you think?

One Response to “I can has a kitty”

  1. Heidielka 15/09/2012 at 9:07 pm #

    The most wonderful of Kitties. I think, had your big sister not been there to stop me, I would have kitty-napped her.
    We are in love.

Leave a Reply

