Holiday Fever

29 Aug

I got sent home from work today. I was practically shunned from the office after they discovered that I was leaking from the face profusely and had a croaky voice. It’s actually their fault that I’ve got this cold as I’m pretty sure about 90% of my co-workers have had some sort of illness over the past three weeks.

My supervisor had been telling me since she got back from sick leave last week that I should take a day off to avoid the sickness. I really should have listened. She was particularly concerned because I’m off on holidays in two weeks. TWO WEEKS!

So, while I’m sitting here in bed with a piece of toilet paper (I ran out of tissues) shoved up my nostrils, I thought I might think about the things I will be doing in a fortnight in sunny Thailand.

There is the distinct possibility that we will be going to the Tiger Temple where I went last year on my first trip to Thailand. I would love, love, love to pat a tiger again.

We will also be spending three nights in Phuket in a luxury hotel. I’m ridiculously excited about this but it’s probably because Thailand is the only place that I could ever afford to stay in a luxury hotel. I think a day trip to Koh Phi Phi might be on the cards too, which is great. The views there are pretty spectacular.

One other thing that I am especially looking forward to is eating delicious food, and plenty of it. Thai food is one of my favourite ever types of food. I actually ate some left over red curry for lunch today, now that I think about it. Spicy Tom Yum soup is my go-to food when I’m feeling a bit sorry for myself too–it’s great comfort food.

I’m crossing my fingers and toes that I’m only suffering from a mild cold and that I will be healthy for my holiday. Send me your good luck vibes that I will be fit and ready in a fortnight’s time (please).

Oh, I almost forgot. We have a 24 hour stopover in Singapore on the way back. There will be shopping adventures for sure. However, I have been warned by a friend from work to avoid the fish foot spas at the airport, because he got a super itchy “rash” after he tried one there recently. Delightful.

Right… Well, I should get to bed and let these cold and flu tablets do their thing. Here’s to hoping good health awaits in the next couple of days!

Leave a Reply

