A review: REN No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm

23 Aug

Behold, the wonder of REN’s No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm. Let us bask for a moment in its glory…

I discovered this cleanser whilst watching a “favourites” video on YouTube many, many months ago. Can someone say addicted? I was attracted to it because it seemed totally different from any other cleanser that I’ve tried. As the name implies, it’s a balm so more of a rich texture but with none of the grease.

I ordered mine off eBay, so it was significantly cheaper (that’s including postage) than what it potentially could have been. If I bought it from Mecca Cosmetica, I would have had a $60+ hole in my pocket. Sorry, but I don’t think that any cleanser should cost that much. Ever.

I’ve been using this for the past… err… must be around five months and I think it is the perfect Winter cleanser. I apply it to a dry face full of makeup–well, BB Cream/Powder, eyeshadow and mascara–and let it melt into my skin before rinsing it off. It takes pretty much all your makeup off in one go. I still do a second cleanse with my MooGoo Milk Cleanser to get off any remaining residue, but if you had dry skin, you could probably just get away with using this once or twice in the evening before using your moisturiser.

I dropped the bottle in the shower a few weeks after I’d been using it and the pump refused to work from then on. In the end, I got so frustrated with the bottle because I couldn’t get any cleanser out that I ended up dismantling the packaging and cutting a slit in the pouch that the cleanser was in. I definitely may have anger suppression issues. That’s when I also realised that the cold weather had made the balm go solid, kind of like coconut oil, so that it wouldn’t have been easy to pump out anyway. Satisfaction was found again.

I’ve just started on my new bottle. That’s right, I liked it so much that I actually did repurchase it. Normally I’d think about trying something new or repurchasing something else I’ve already tried and liked. But it is that good that I don’t want to stop using it.

“But Sarah” you say, “You have seriously greasy skin! Why are you using a balm cleanser if your skin is already so oily?”.

Well, Imaginary Questioner, I’m glad you asked. Oil or balm cleansers can actually be good for oily skins. Sometimes your skin produces an excessive amount of oil because it’s trying to replenish moisture. If you’ve ever used a cleanser that leaves your face squeaky clean, I’m sure you’ve noticed that your skin becomes really oily within a short space of time. That’s because it’s panicked because you’ve taken away all the natural moisture and it’s trying to fix the problem. I can practically hear my skin screaming in horror just thinking about it.

Another thing I love about it is that it’s like rubbing silk into your face. It really feels like it melts into your skin and it has a lovely rosy scent. You can leave it on while you do other things and let it really sink in and do its thing. When you add warm water it turns into a milky substance and rinses off. It doesn’t rinse of super easily, but you can use a face washer or a muslin cloth to help with that. I had one of those chamis cloths from the Body Shop, but it… uhh… went a little manky so I chucked it out and now just use a washer.

Overall view? I love, love, love it. I just wish it wasn’t so hard to get a hold of here in Australia. Four-and-a-half out of five happy faces for this cleanser.

If you want to check out my review on REN’s Invisible Pores Detox mask, click here.

6 Responses to “A review: REN No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm”

  1. Alina 21/03/2013 at 10:16 pm #

    Such a great review! I’ve been contemplating this cleanser for about 4 months now, Mecca prices kill me so I’ll definitely pick it up off ebay too 🙂 Do you mind linking me to the seller where you bought yours from? 🙂

    • bearinthere 22/03/2013 at 7:59 am #

      Sure thing. I bought mine from superfine236, though I just had a look again and the price of postage is ludicrously higher than before :(. Good luck ebay hunting 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed the review! I hope you love it as much as I do 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: Stark Skincare Grapefruit Cleanse and Hydrate Balm | bearinthere - 21/11/2013

    […] talked about cleansing balms before when I did a review on the REN No1 Purity Cleansing Balm last year. My skin is very, very oily through the T-zone, so you’d think it would be […]

  2. Empties–products I’ve finished using #5 | bearinthere - 23/07/2014

    […] so I won’t be repurchasing it. I’m actually currently using an old love of mine that I reviewed almost two years ago. Oh, so many loves for REN’s No.1 Purity Cleansing […]

  3. A review : Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly | bearinthere - 05/10/2015

    […] all know that I have a soft spot for the REN No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm so, a couple of months back when I was feeling a bit spendy, I purchased this Nude Skincare […]

  4. Empties–products I’ve finished using #8 | bearinthere - 09/02/2016

    […] don’t want to waste it. As I think I’ve mentioned in a previous empties and maybe in my original review of it, this stuff is waaaay expensive, but beautiful. The only drawback for me (apart from the […]

Leave a Reply

