A day in Paris

6 Aug

It was shortly after I almost burnt to a crisp during lunch with friends today that I was reminded of another equally bright and sunny day a little over three years ago.

In the middle of my European holiday back in 2009, my cousin, friend and I made a stop in Paris for a day. It was a bit of a whirlwind walking tour of the city as we really only had the day to soak in as much scenery as possible. We stopped by the Notre Dame, Saintes Chapelles with its beautifully ornate windows, the Louvre, Arc de Triomphe, and the Eiffel tower.

We didn’t actually go inside any of these attractions apart from the Saintes Chapelles (pictured just above), but just kind of stopped outside a lot of them briefly before heading to the next place.

I quite liked Paris. The sky was amazing, the weather was great and I loved the feel of the place. Ideally I’d like to spend a few days there to investigate things properly and even go to the places not so widely seen by the tourists. That being said, there is gigantic part of me that is “touristy” and I won’t apologise for wanting to see the Louvre or the Eiffel tower even if it is cliched.

On my next trip–and there will be a next trip–I would like to indulge in a proper French croissant and sip coffee in a nice little cafe somewhere. Then I would take a leisurely stroll around the city, taking my time to really soak it in. Hopefully by then I will have improved my French a little.

That next trip might be some way off, so for now I will just look wistfully at my photos and remember the fun times I had.

Hope you enjoyed my photos!

Leave a Reply

