A Review: REN Pore Minimising Detox Mask

6 Jun

A while back I was watching some reviews and tutorials on YouTube and REN products were mentioned. REN is one of those cult high(er) end skincare brands that leans towards more natural ingredients, so of course it appealed to someone like me. In particular there was mention of the Pore Minimising Detox Mask, which I think has been renamed recently to be Invisible Pores Detox Mask. This was right up my alley seeing as even though my skin is a lot calmer and “clearer” these days, it still exhibits signs of congestion.

I often envy people who have smooth, translucent skin and tiny, tiny pores. My cheeks are still quite bumpy after the “incident” a couple of years back. I also have quite large pores, some acne scarring and a few broken capillaries. Heck yes, that looks as good up close as it sounds.

Back to the review. So started my online search for REN products that would actually deliver to Australia. I’m pretty certain that you can’t buy REN in Australia if you aren’t near a Mecca Cosmetica Store. Add to that the fact that, as it would also be on the more expensive end of the price scale, Australia likes to mark up prices to make them even more expensive. To my frustration, I didn’t have much luck online either (looking for cheaper sales) so I ended up buying ten sample tubes from eBay. In hindsight, it probably ended up being a similar price to what I’d pay anywhere else anyway thanks to postage costs.

When they arrived, I gave a couple of the tubes to my sister and mother to try out too to see what they thought of it. We all agree that it is a lovely product. It its gentle and effective and didn’t do anything nasty to my skin.

Here’s a rundown on how I’ve been using it.

Firstly, I apply it to a clean face. Here I am freshly washed and sans makeup. You’ll notice that my skin isn’t exactly hideous, but I still felt like it needed a boost:

I don’t know if this is normal for this mask or if it was just my samples, but it never applies evenly. My sister agreed with me when she used it. It’s kind of like there is a film between your skin and the mask so that the application is patchy, but if you try to fix it by rubbing your fingers over it, you displace product again.

I let it dry for about ten to fifteen minutes–it depends how lazy I’m feeling at the time–but really just long enough for it to dry. Then I start rubbing it off my face. Now, I must confess that I don’t actually know if that was ever part of the instructions, but it feels nice to me. It’s just extra exfoliation, I guess.

Then I rinse the rest of it off, wash my face, and then apply all my lotions and potions afterwards.

My skin always feels really soft and calm after I’ve used it. It definitely draws out the impurities in your skin, as a couple of days later a few blemishes will appear. This is a good thing, trust me. I don’t know about the whole pore minimising thing though. My pores aren’t invisible and I’ve been using it fairly frequently for the past three months.

The price factor is a bit of a downer for me. I find the retail price a bit steep even though I don’t actually mind paying a little extra for “luxury” product sometimes. I think those ancestral stingy genes of mine are of the opinion that there are equally as good products out there that are less expensive. Would I purchase this again? I might, but it would probably have to be on sale for me to justify it.

Verdict? I’m sure you would have got the gist by now. I really enjoyed using it and it made my skin feel calmer, softer and definitely clearer. The only downers are that the application was a bit odd when I used it and it is quite pricey. If you’re looking to pamper yourself and have a little extra cash on hand at the moment, go ahead and give it a try. It will not disappoint.

One Response to “A Review: REN Pore Minimising Detox Mask”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: REN No.1 Purity Cleansing Balm « bearinthere - 23/08/2012

    […] you want to check out my review on REN’s Pore Minimizing Detox mask, click here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

