A review: Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish

27 Apr

A sad day has descended upon the bearinthere home. I have just run out of my Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish. I’ve been gradually trying to wean myself off it for the past week, using it just once a day instead of twice in an effort to make it last just that little bit longer.

This is kind of a beauty cult product in the UK and I can understand why. To keep this short and sweet–I love, love, love it. It checks all the boxes for me. It’s a more ‘natural’ product, gentle, creamy, luxurious feeling and it actually works. It smells like eucalyptus, which is both refreshing and soothing at the same time. My skin has been super happy (yes, I have given my skin emotions) and mostly clear except for the odd blemish every now and then. It doesn’t feel like it’s stripping all the oils from my face. In fact, it feels very hydrating and almost like I don’t need to moisturise afterwards.

I’ve been using it twice a day for the past two months, massaging a blob of it onto dry skin and then washing off with either cold (morning) or warm water (evening) and then patting my face dry. Technically, I’m missing out on half the process because I don’t have a muslin cloth to ‘polish’ with. The cloth is supposed to gently exfoliate your skin as you wipe the product off your face so you get twice the bang for your buck. I’m guessing my results would have been even better had I owned a muslin cloth, but I’m still very pleased with this cleanser.

The absence of said cloth is because I ordered my cleanser off eBay after an evening spent ploughing through various websites and getting upset about high prices and a lack of international shipping. Which brings me to the downer.

Buyer’s beware: it’s not the cheapest option out there and it’s not the easiest thing to find. Sometimes living in Australia can be annoying if you want to buy certain skincare and cosmetic lines. On the one hand you may be able to find the product for a reasonable price but they don’t ship to Australia. On the other hand, you find something that does ship to Australia, but it’s somehow twice as expensive. You just have to keep on searching.

Rant over.

So, apart from the fact that it’s a bit pricier than other similar products and a bit difficult to find, this product is amazing. I think it’s even better than the Puretopia and Organic Essence cleansers, which I have also reviewed. I’m going to have to cut open the tube to get the last little bit out. I’m going to miss that stuff for sure.

One Response to “A review: Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m loving lately « bearinthere - 17/06/2012

    […] Cleansing Balm. A proper review will come later, but let me tell you that this could rival the Liz Earle cleanser that I am particularly fond of. I’ve been using it at night as my first cleanse. It […]

Leave a Reply

