DIY Deodorant

12 Mar

I totally made my own deodorant this evening.

They say that desperate times call for desperate measures, and this evening was one of those desperate times. Now I will tell you an extremely long and unnecessary story to explain why…

Somewhat recently, I ran out of my MooGoo deodorant which, by the way, is the best natural deodorant I’ve come by so far in my search. Apart from the fact that it leaves white marks on all your clothing, it’s pretty darn good. I seem to dress haphazardly, because occasionally I had giant white streaks on the belly part of my shirt. Go figure…

Anyway, to save my pennies, I thought that I would try finishing one of the crystal deodorants I had purchased and tried prior to the MooGoo one. This turned out to be a terrible, terrible idea. Crystal deodorant and me is a disastrous mix–it just does not work and I don’t know why. The first few days are alright, but then something like today happens.

Today, I put on my deodorant as usual and within about an hour I knew something was wrong. And I should have known, because this happened to me the previous time I’d used it. This will probably be too much information (hooray!), but it’s like it turned sour. Does that make sense? Instead of your normal not-so-great smell, it’s combined with this sourness and makes someone with a sensitive sniffer like me very distressed.

Honestly, I thought that I would have been better off going au naturale instead of putting on that deodorant today. Sure, I wouldn’t exactly have been fresh as a daisy, but it still would have been an improvement. All day I fought with the urge to take my shirt off at work (not publicly appropriate!) and changed it for a new, non-existant, non-smelly one. I also was very reluctant to move my arms much above elbow level. Yes, I know I sound like a crazy person.

I decided that I was going to purchase some more MooGoo deodorant that afternoon, but by the time I finished work it was too late to go to my local Healthy Life store.

Then I decided that I would look up a recipe that my mother had emailed me, which she had received from a lovely friend named Robyn. It literally has three ingredients and you can find them in your kitchen cupboards.

(Actually, I tell a lie. I had to go to my little corner store to get one ingredient, but the other two were in my cupboard already.)

DIY Deodorant:

1/4 cup bicarb soda
1/4 cornstarch or arrowroot powder
4 tbsp (roughly) coconut oil

Mum’s friend Robyn says:

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and mix with a fork.
Add coconut oil to the mixture, working it into a paste. Add more oil as needed.
The consistency should be somewhat that of play dough and will be softer or harder depending on its temperature (usually hardens a bit after a while).
Put it in a small container with a lid or into an empty stick deodorant dispenser.

Tip: Some people react to baking soda. You can adjust the proportions to your own liking (up to 6 parts cornstarch to 1 part baking soda). If you prefer a deodorant powder, leave out the coconut oil and use as you would baby powder. You can also add essential oils like tea tree or peppermint.

Have fun!

I made a half batch because I’m still a bit dubious as to whether this will work or not. I used equal parts of bicarb and cornstarch and I also added two drops of peppermint essential oil because that’s the only type I had lying around. This is what it ended up looking like.

I have to confess that I was tempted to try eat it, but I think that’s because of the coconut oil. It smells so delicious. I didn’t eat it and I don’t recommend that you do either because it would probably taste awful. Technically you could eat it, but don’t.

That concludes my long and involved story for a very simple recipe. I will report back to you in a while about its effectiveness and whether I will make any more.

Wish me luck!

7 Responses to “DIY Deodorant”

  1. amber 19/03/2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I can vouch for the fact that is smells like KoolMints!

  2. Rachel 09/07/2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Interesting!!

    Have you ever considered Lavilin? I think you’d like it for a number of reasons: It’s natural, it’s safe, and it lasts up to a week. So even though it’s more expensive than traditional anti-perspirants and deodorants, you use much less on a weekly basis…and it WORKS. Thoughts??

    • bearinthere 09/07/2013 at 4:52 pm #

      I have heard of that brand. In fact, it’s been on my “to try” list for about a month now. It looks like it could be a good potential. I still love the MooGoo deodorant most out of all the ones that I’ve tried so far πŸ™‚

      • Rachel 13/07/2013 at 10:51 am #

        Try it!!! I am totally in love with Lavilin. I’ve actually used MooGoo before but I like Lavilin a lot more. I this company and they ship pretty quickly: http://www.microbalanced.com

        And let me know how it goes!

      • bearinthere 23/07/2013 at 10:28 am #

        Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll order some this week and will let you know for sure how I get on πŸ™‚

      • bearinthere 04/10/2013 at 11:49 am #

        Hi Rachel! I tried the Lavilin deodorant but I didn’t get on with it too well. I think that my armpits are very rebellious 😦 But, I was super impressed with how long it did last on the skin even though I didn’t smell very good. Worth a try πŸ™‚ Thanks for the recommendation!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: DIY Deodorant « bearinthere - 30/04/2012

    […] evening, I made my own deodorant from a recipe sent to me from my […]

Leave a Reply

