Skin Update

26 Feb

To my horror this week, my skin has been a bit angry with me. Thinking about things I’ve been doing differently the past couple of weeks, I think I can safely point out a few of the culprits that have caused my skin to rebel.

Firstly, I ate some caramel slice recently. This might sound a bit bizarre because most normal people probably have no problem eating caramel slice. But, after my chocolate-free January and a general decision to cut out a lot of sugary things from my diet, caramel slice was a bit of a shock to the system. And it didn’t help that once I started eating it, I found it difficult to stop. I notice a lot these days that chocolate or anything overly sweet seems to make my skin feel irritated.

Secondly, I haven’t been drinking as much water lately. This is probably due to what I will call “the incident” with my water bottle, where I accidentally left it with added liquid chlorophyll (aka green water) in it for a few days and it did not end so well. You know how stagnant water never tastes very good? Yeah, that happened. Even since I’ve rinsed the bottle out numerous times, I’m still a bit dubious about how my water will taste. I will have to find a replacement soon so I can take it to work again.

Thirdly, I ran out of Inner Health Plus. I’ve been taking it regularly for, oh, I don’t actually really know. Six months at least I reckon. I definitely attribute clearer, happier skin to taking a probiotic regularly.

Lastly, I haven’t actually changed my skin routine in the past month or so except for the fact that I now exfoliate twice a week. So I don’t think that could have been the problem as such, unless it’s just drawn all the crap to the surface… Mmm, nice. Though, I am glad that I still have my MooGoo Acne Cleansing Cream. I’m sure my skin would have looked a lot worse without it.

Oh and there’s always hormones. Man, they suck.

So, I guess the point I’m trying to make (badly) is this: even if you’ve got all the nice face washes, creams, lotions and potions, what’s going on inside your body really affects what happens on the surface. If you’re putting crap into your body and not hydrating enough, then your skin is going to show it. All the creams and potions may help treat and heal what what’s on the surface, but that’s the problem. It’s only on the surface.

My advice is to start treating your insides a little better and see if things improve. That’s what I’ve started to do as of this weekend–more green water, back on the Inner Health Plus and steering clear of anything sugary that might aggravate the problem.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

