A review: Puretopia

30 Jan

Have you ever had the experience where the one thing that you want to buy is exactly the thing that you can’t find in the shop? This happened to me with not one, but two things a few weeks ago. I specifically wanted to get either one of two cleansers–one from Burt’s Bees and the other from Organic Essence. I could find the brands, but not the specific cleansers that I wanted.

I was after a creamy cleanser that was deep cleansing but also gentle. I’ve decided that despite the fact that I have oily skin, it is also sensitive and temperamental. In my experience, the more a product is designed for acne prone skin the more harsh it is and the worse my skin reacts. I can hear my skin screaming now just imagining it. I remember once using a tea tree cleanser to try clearing my skin and it actually exacerbated the problem because I think my skin went into panic mode.

So back to me being stuck in Priceline staring blankly at the shelves because I couldn’t find what I wanted (this blank stare thing happens to me frequently). Then I spotted a brand I’d never seen before called Puretopia. There were two options-the first was a gel cleanser and the second was a creamy cleanser which was the one I ultimately chose.

Whisk Away Rehydrating and Moisturising Creamy Face Cleanser. Phew! What a mouthful that is! Maybe a bit of an excessively long name?

The long name is pretty much my only gripe with this cleanser. I’ve been using it for a few weeks and my skin hasn’t been doing anything crazy lately. In fact, it’s actually looking quite clear.

It has a nice emollient texture and melts into your skin the more you massage it in. I imagine it wouldn’t do horrible things to your face if you just wiped the excess off with a tissue and left it as either a “treatment” or if you were just super tired and couldn’t be bother washing it off. However, that’s not really how I roll.

It has a relatively floral/herbal aroma and an inspection of the ingredients list tells me it’s geranium and rose that I can smell. It does mention parfum in the ingredients but the product has a guarantee that there are no synthetic fragrances. That can be a bit of a dicey area generally, but for now I’ll accept their word for it.

Price-wise it’s not exactly the cheapest option out there for cleansers at around $17 a tube (125mL). But, as far as “natural” cleansers go, it’s on the lower end of the price spectrum than many I’ve been searching for recently. This cleanser doesn’t have any nasties in it like sulphates or parabens, so you know it’s a better product for you in the long run. I don’t really mind investing a little bit extra if I know it’s better for me.

So, my recommendation? Worth a try, definitely. I would repurchase this and might even try the gel cleanser out if the ingredients don’t scare me. It’s made my skin feel plump and healthy, and the overall feeling is calm, happy skin. Sounds like a winner to me.

2 Responses to “A review: Puretopia”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: Organic Essence « bearinthere - 02/02/2012

    […] Clarins cleansing milk. It is white with an obviously creamy texture. Like the Puretopia cleanser I wrote about previously, I used this one twice a day and my skin was happy and clearer. As I’ve mentioned […]

  2. A review: Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish « bearinthere - 27/04/2012

    […] and a bit difficult to find, this product is amazing. I think it’s even better than the Puretopia and Organic Essence cleansers, which I have also reviewed. I’m going to have to cut open the […]

Leave a Reply

