My Australia Day

26 Jan

I woke up at three o’clock this morning with a runny nose. After an hour of tossing and turning, blowing my nose and finding some sort of drugs to make things better I eventually drifted off to sleep again.

When I finally woke up, I didn’t feel too great. I made breakfast (boiled egg on toast plus a cup of coffee), played around on the computer for a bit before psyching myself up to have a shower and start cooking.

I made mini chocolate cakes this morning. There are fourteen in total, but I really only wanted one or maybe two. They’re a thank you gift for the guy who spent hours on Monday fixing my laptop. I used a recipe of my sister’s that she’s written about. I “adapted” it by filling muffin trays with the mixture rather than making one big cake.

Then, to save me from spending Australia Day entirely by myself, I went over to my cousin’s place so we could pretend to be sociable. I also wanted to bake pretzels, and didn’t feel like doing it by myself. They’re probably not the most Australian thing to cook on Australia Day, but I’d been craving them all week.

Um, let’s just say that the pretzels were a massive failure. They were a failure because of me. I killed the yeast. Rookie mistake. Logic and converting fahrenheit to celsius temperatures are not my strong point. So, I misread the instructions and poured boiling water onto my yeast (and my hand) and then couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t doing its usual thing. I still went ahead and got so far as to knead the dough and let it sit for forty minutes in order for it to rise. Then BABAUM–it hadn’t risen at all. I even blamed the yeast initially until my cousin pointed out that maybe it was just room temperature water I was supposed to use. Then the lightbulb flashed on. It meant 100 degrees fahrenheit, not 100 degrees celsius. What a dingus I am.

Anyway, after I realised my incredibly stupid mistake, I was really annoyed with myself. I ended up driving home shortly afterwards because I’d remembered my sister was coming to visit and I needed to clean up the kitchen a little bit.

She’s come over now and we’ve listened to the top ten in Triple J’s hottest 100. We both knew who’d get number one. I mean, who didn’t?

So now I’m showered, considering having a cup of tea or maybe some other kind of nice beverage and think that I might have an early night tonight.

Leave a Reply

