Hello New Year

5 Jan

Ok, so I’m a few days late, but Happy New Year. My laptop is still pretty broken and I am also quite lazy, so that is why I haven’t posted sooner.

People, I had a quiet New Year. I dropped my sister off at a party, came home, showered, ate a depressing dinner and watched shows until I picked my sister up again at 10pm. Then we sat on the couch until midnight struck and decided to go to bed immediately.

My whole Christmas break was lazy. I didn’t do anything worthwhile. I was very antisocial (it’s true–my family told me I was) and managed to watch two entire series of Gossip Girl as well as one and a half seasons of Pretty Little Liars. Feel free to judge me. I’m judging myself. I also did read one and a half books. Noticeably no study in there when I had intended to finish this second subject before Christmas.

Something weird happened as I was walking to my building for my first day back at work on Tuesday. I found my Thai elephant keyring that I’d thought I’d lost forever in the car park at work. It was just sitting there on the ground near the stairs. I wonder how long it’s been kicked around that space for.

Anyway, onto the New Year. I’m not one for making resolutions, purely because I’ve never been the type of person who could write a list and actually cross anything off it. I’d have lost it or forgotten about it by that point anyway. I make general goals though.

Last year I decided that 2011 would be better than 2010 because, frankly, 2010 was pretty sh*tty. And, would you know it? Although it didn’t start very well, 2011 was exceptionally better than the previous one. I wanted to be more happy and I was. I got a new job, made new friends and went on a spectacular holiday.

This year I would like to be a better “self-motivated” student (kind of an oxymoron in my books). So I’m hoping that I will complete more than one subject this year out of the twenty-four I’m supposed to do to finish this diploma. Wish me luck, please.

I’m also hoping to save up for another holiday and perhaps will do the next course for scuba diving. So I’m going to try to be more careful with my money this year. I think that is an attainable goal, don’t you?

Oh, I’m doing a chocolate-free month this January. So far, so good. Except for when I had a rumball almost in my mouth on Monday before I realised what I was doing. Quick save.

Did you make any goals or resolutions?

Leave a Reply

