Seasons Greetings & Thankful Thursday

22 Dec

First of all, apologies that I haven’t written for a while. I do have a legitimate excuse though. I may have seriously broken the trackpad on my macbook, which makes it impossible to use after an indeterminate amount of time only decided by said macbook. It might be fine for about five or even twenty-five minutes and then all of a sudden it’s like there’s a phantom finger on the trackpad, scrolling from side to side like a maniac and randomly clicking on things. The only temporary solutions are to close the lid and walk away for a while or to restart the computer. It’s so frustrating. So that is why I started this post at home and am now finishing it at work. Shh, don’t tell anyone…

Secondly, Merry Christmas! I have been feeling decidedly un-Christmassy the past couple of weeks. But this week I have made a bit of an effort. I made mini flourless orange cakes for people at work, using this recipe. Instead of making one big cake I used third cup measures to fill some red and green patty cake papers in a muffin tray and made sixteen exactly. They were well received, which I am really pleased about. I also finished my Christmas present wrapping last night. For some reason I was super organised this year and finished shopping for presents some weeks ago. My wrapping skills aren’t so great, but it’s really on this inside that counts.

Thirdly, I thought that seeing as I’ve been feeling a bit grinchy lately, that I would turn it around by having a Thankful Thursday. So here are the things I’m thankful for today:

1. My mother–It was her birthday yesterday. I gave her this amazing candle that smells like musk sticks as a present because she loves musk lollies. I don’t really know how to describe my mother other than the fact that she is, err, crazy. But I love her to pieces.

2. My new job–I’ve been at this job since the end of April now and made some really nice new friends and get along with everyone in the office. I have had a few people tell me recently that I seem a lot happier and more relaxed these days and I think a lot of it has to do with the new job. I am so, so thankful for that.

3. My hairdresser–I get excited whenever it is time for me to have a haircut. My hairdresser gets excited every time she sees how much my hair has grown. I got my hair trimmed last night and a nice blow-dry with soft curls. Quite unlike my usual Einstein look or poorly done ponytail/braid.

4. Holidays–I am ready for a break (even though I just said I am thankful for my new job). It’s the last day of work tomorrow and I’m looking forward to relaxing even if it is for just over a week.

What are you thankful for?

Lastly, I thought I’d leave you with something cute to smile at for the day. I was reading some online news yesterday and came across this video of a cat soothing a crying baby to sleep. Cue “awww”.

One Response to “Seasons Greetings & Thankful Thursday”

  1. amber 26/12/2011 at 9:53 pm #

    cute kitty. i love how he yawns. he’s like, “kid, go to sleep so i can have some peace around here.”

Leave a Reply

