Deodorant Battle

4 Nov

Lately I have been having deodorant issues.

After recently deciding that I wouldn’t use antiperspirant deodorant or anything that had any nasties like aluminium, I’ve embarked on a treacherous journey to find a natural deodorant that actually works. The reasons behind this decision are pretty simple. When you think about what you’re practically laminating your armpits with daily, it’s actually quite concerning. Disgustingly enough, people are actually supposed to sweat so it’s probably bad that you’re constantly trying to stop a natural process. And it’s not actually the sweat that’s the stinky problem but the by-product of bacteria on the skin. Gross, huh? Plus there is the fact that there are elements in these products that are linked to some pretty nasty health problems.

Well so far, not so good. I’ve purchased three in the last month and none of them are working very well. The first one I bought was Lavera and was kind of expensive as far as deodorant goes. I liked it at first because the scent reminded me of Turkish Delight, because that’s exactly what you want to smell like, right? But it only took a few days for the delight to turn into dismay and I decided I had to try something new quickly.

The next one was some kind of sports crystal deodorant that made many, many claims. One of these should have been “Does not work”. I’m actually not sure if I was even using that deodorant properly–you had to wet the crystal the then apply it to your skin. Were you supposed to keep going until it was dry or what? It all seemed a bit complicated and yet completely ineffective. I actually got so distressed one day at work that I went up to the chemist and bought yet another natural deodorant on my lunch break. This one I thought was a winner up until a couple of days ago.

I was paranoid for the greater portion of the day about lifting up my arms in case any one should keel over after a cartoon-like tendril of greeny-brown odour wafted up their nostrils. I even used hand sanitizer as a last ditch effort to cover up the problem(I made a covert trip to the toilets). This is just not good enough and very, very distressing for someone who is already sensitive about smell! No female (or male, for that matter) should have to worry about smelling offensive just because they’ve been doing normal everyday activities like walking.

I’m currently using a not-so-clean but less nasty deodorant that a friend’s loaned me out of sympathy for my distress. So far it’s ok, but it also smells a bit manly and I don’t exactly wish to smell more masculine. I just want to smell clean and inoffensive.

Next I’m thinking about trying a recipe my mother sent me, but the ingredients look slightly worrying. I mean, would you put bicarb soda in your armpits? And if that fails, I’m trying an uber expensive one that my sister told me about. At $35 it had better work or I’d be very, very upset.

I’m starting to wonder if my body is actually rebelling against the good stuff because my body just hates me that much.

In a perfect world, I wouldn’t have to worry about this problem. Then again, in a perfect world I would also have controllable hair, even eyebrows and perfectly clear skin. Oh, and excellent posture. Alas, I am quite flawed.

So my question to my four readers is: what clean deodorant would you recommend?

13 Responses to “Deodorant Battle”

  1. amber 08/11/2011 at 8:25 am #

    I’ve actually heard that a dusting of bicarb (mixed with cornflour for smoothness) is effective. I don’t know. 😦 I use the Garnier mineral one that STILL CONTAINS ALUMINIUM dammit. See what you think of the Aesop one.

    Are you reading Mamamia to catch Zoe’s new posts?

    • bearinthere 08/11/2011 at 9:49 pm #

      I will test this bicarb theory on a day when I don’t have to talk to several people.

      I haven’t had a chance to look at Mamamia lately but am going to do so now!

      • amber 09/11/2011 at 3:23 pm #

        Did you know Moo Goo makes an aluminium-free deodorant? http://www.moogoo.com.au/deodorant.html/

        I used to use a couple of good ones that I bought at the supermarket. One was a unisex fragrance in a blue spritz bottle, and the other was a salt one. I thought they worked well, but I’m not a big sweaterer and rarely get BO anyway. :-/

      • bearinthere 09/11/2011 at 4:22 pm #

        Yeah I knew Moo Goo made one. A girl at work that I recommended the moisturiser to decided to try it. I haven’t been game enough to ask how good it is.

      • bearinthere 09/11/2011 at 4:23 pm #

        Ps. You’re a freak of nature anyway. You don’t get stinky feet either.

      • bearinthere 14/11/2011 at 9:07 pm #

        I’ve been reading the MooGoo website’s stuff about the deodorant. Maybe my problem lately is that my body is just getting used to the natural stuff and that’s why it’s been so bad?

        I think I will try the MooGoo deodorant and see how it goes.

  2. Heidielka 04/12/2011 at 9:38 pm #

    QV also does an aluminum free. I found it worked pretty well but have trouble tracking it down – I’ve onlu ever seen it at the discount chemist opposite garden town.

    • bearinthere 05/12/2011 at 4:20 pm #

      I’ve tried the MooGoo one most recently and it seems to be the best one so far. Who knew deodorant could be such an issue?

  3. hellosayserika 23/02/2015 at 8:41 pm #

    Hey I just found this by looking at your moogoo products review and even though it’s a few years late I thought I would tell you about the deodorant I use! It’s an organic, natural deodorant made by Eco Tan. It’s made from coconut oil and I love it. It can feel a bit wet when you put it on but just put it on a few minutes before putting on your shirt and it will dry up and feel fine πŸ™‚ Smells yummy, all natural and works great for me. Heres a link to it http://www.ecotan.com.au/product/organic-deodorant/ although the one I currently have look different to the one pictured on the site, it’s more brown than red and the logo is slightly different. Maybe it’s old packaging. Can be bought from health food stores/natural stores.

    • bearinthere 23/02/2015 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve seen Eco Tan in a couple of my local stores and online, so I’ll check out the deodorant and see how it goes πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A review: MooGoo « bearinthere - 07/12/2011

    […] also recently bought the deodorant in the hopes it will solve my issue that I’ve had for the past two months. So far it seems to be working better than anything […]

  2. Disappointing Products « bearinthere - 13/02/2013

    […] you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll probably know that I have a bit of a rocky history with natural deodorants. There’s just something about my armpits that doesn’t agree […]

  3. A review: Lavilin Roll-on Deodorant | bearinthere - 16/10/2013

    […] was starting to smell sour and my heart sank. It was going to be a repeat of that time I tried the Lavera deodorant and then got so upset with how bad I smelled, that I felt like […]

Leave a Reply

