Packing

16 Sep

I’m feeling a little bit unprepared for Thailand. I’ve managed to get as far as getting my suitcase out and putting two power adaptors in it and most of my toiletries. Last night I exchanged some money and got myself a cheap wallet to take over with me too.

Yup, I plan these things really far ahead…

My current idea is that I will gradually pack over the next few nights and have everything done by Monday morning before I go to the airport. It’ll be interesting to see if I actually stick to my own plan.

I’ve talked myself out of taking my laptop as it will be excess weight and I have a high propensity for breaking things. I just cannot break my camera or camera card because I may get extremely upset over losing my photos like the Athens/Barcelona incident.

Speaking of cameras, I’ll be taking that and my battery charger and hopefully I have a second card floating around my possessions somewhere, just in case. Then I’ll have my phone charger and my phone. Fingers crossed I do not break this phone. I’m hoping too to get global roaming and some sort of data package that doesn’t require the amputation of a limb to pay for it.

Toiletries include shower gel, face wash, scrub, day moisturiser with SPF in it, moisturiser, toothbrush and toothpaste, earplugs (travel essential), lip balm, sunscreen, insect repellant, band aids and painkillers. Oh, maybe I should take some hairbands and a brush. I neglected to take a comb or brush to Cairns and that was an extremely bad idea. My hair and the humidity had an instant Einstein hair effect. I just lacked the genius.

Then there is the question of how much clothing I take over with me. My co-worker has informed me that there will be laundry ladies in Thailand so I won’t necessarily have to do my own washing or recycle the same clothes the entire time I’m there. When I was in Europe, I wore the same clothes for three weeks before I found a washing machine. I just used them in a cycle and luckily had packed enough undies to last me probably for the entire five weeks I was away. Having enough undies is an absolute necessity. Trust me.

I think I will wear my sneakers and a pair of thongs while I’m there. I might take my trusty blue shoes too for white water rafting just in case. Two towels will probably also make it into my luggage. Oh, and a hat for sure.

Does that sound like too much? I’m really not sure if I feel like I’ve got too much or too little. I guess time will tell, ey?

One Response to “Packing”

  1. amber 17/09/2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I’m pretty crap at packing. I would never, ever offer advice. Except to take loads of undies, but you seem to have that covered.

    I always take stupidly inappropriate clothing that I don’t end up wearing.

    When I was in Europe last, I regret using facial scrub as my default face cleanser. I think that’s why I ended up with that contact dermatitis on my face. :-/

Leave a Reply

