Travel Fever

15 Sep

Friends, I have less than a week before I hop on a plane with two mates for Thailand. I have to be honest and confess that right up until this weekend just past I was actually dreading the trip. This was not in an “I don’t want to go on holiday” way, but in an “I think I may want to kill my travel companions” kind of way.

You see, I’ve decided I can only travel with one person for an extended period of time without having murderous thoughts. That person is my cousin who unfortunately can’t come on the trip with us.


(My cousin and me in Paris)

It probably won’t be as bad as I’m imagining, which is often the case. I find that all the fear, dread and anxiety usually makes for a pleasant surprise afterwards. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

So, if I happen to survive the plane trip, I’m hopefully going to get to see some floating markets and the tiger temple so that I can pat some tigers in Bangkok. One companion of mine isn’t coming to see the tigers, which saddened me a bit, but it’s her decision. Then we are going up north to see some happy elephants and go white water rafting. September, by the way, is when the rivers are particularly dangerous and has been when most people drown. I’m crossing my fingers I won’t be one of those unlucky people. Then, assuming I’ve survived the rapids, we’re going to Koh Samui to go scuba diving and maybe even have a relaxing day.

All this thinking about holidays has given me Travel Fever. I keep looking at flights to Europe for next year and getting depressed at the cost. There is also the Escapes section on Living Social that has made me want to go to both the Maldives for a week and somewhere near Melbourne for a weekend. I really should stop looking at them…

I just really want to go somewhere and forget about the real world for a while and enjoy myself.

Next year for sure I am going to try and go on some kind of overseas trip. I think I’ll either aim to get over my fear of travelling by myself or try to convince my cousin to come along with me, even if it’s just for two weeks.

One Response to “Travel Fever”

  1. amber 17/09/2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Sarbear, just be selfish and do what you want. A true friend won’t care. It’s your time off. It’s your money. It’s your life.

Leave a Reply

