Just a thought

26 Apr

In the past year or so I’ve become a lot more interested in cosmetics. I could spend hours watching youtube tutorials on how to do various makeup looks feeling a mixture of awe and envy. But I also come from a family that is, I guess, more wary of the various chemicals that are used in cosmetics and personal care products these days.

My mother has always erred on the side of caution when it comes to soaps and shampoos, trying to avoid such nasties as sodium laurel sulphate and aluminium. I think it’s caught on as my sister has also talked on this topic briefly in one of her posts, linked here. I actually just discovered she’d also mentioned the video I’m about to show you, but who says you can’t hear the same news twice?

It has crossed my mind several times that we use so many different personal care products everyday, that I wonder what people used even 100 years ago? We have hundreds of choices for moisturisers, foundations, spot creams, eye creams and goodness knows what else that are packed with a never ending list of unrecognisable ingredients. Shouldn’t we be concerned? What happened to using what nature gives? Why isn’t there more choice when it comes to finding products that are better for us? And why do the natural products have to be so much more expensive than the crappy, toxic ones?

Anyway, I’m sure this will be a common theme for me to write about. At some point in the future I will share with you the various products that I like.

But for now, here’s a thought. Watch this video.

I found it while looking at Naturallogic‘s blog: a business that I’ve recently discovered and like to buy from.

One Response to “Just a thought”

  1. acleansurface 28/04/2011 at 3:10 am #

    Thanks for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

