Trivial Pursuits

6 Apr

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but sometimes I feel like I’m a grumpy old man trapped inside the body of a 22-year-old woman’s body. I’m frequently cranky, if I had regular mealtimes I’m sure I’d be happier, and I also find myself frequently wondering why the young kids these days don’t dress properly – “Um excuse me, but I think you’ve forgotten to wear pants today”…

Now I’ve joined a trivia team and become a member of a leagues club for the next five years.

My cousin invited me a bit over a month ago to join her and her ex-bosses at a trivia night over on the south side of town. There were only four of us in our team that night and we did not score incredibly well, but I had a really good time. The invitation was open to come the next week… and the next week and pretty soon my cousin and I both decided that we might as well become members of the leagues club and make this a regular weekly outing. Also, my cousin’s ex-bosses could possibly be the nicest and most welcoming people ever. I’ve decided to adopt them as a third pair of grandparents, but they don’t need to know that…

I think what makes it so fun is the fact that we do not pressure ourselves into winning anything with our amazing lack of knowledge. We just want to go out, have fun, learn something new AND there is always the lucky draw prize. Last week we won $200 in vouchers and $50 in cash. Also, a couple of weeks earlier, we did chance to tie for the most improved team and won $15 in cash. I would attribute this win solely to the contribution made by one person who decided to come just for that week, however.

I don’t have fantastic general knowledge and a lot of the questions related to music are from before I was born. There also seem to be a lot of questions regarding cricket, which is right up there on my list of least favourite sports ever to follow. So, you know, my knowledgable offerings can only be for how many TimTams there are in a packet or what a Mexican Walking Fish’s real name is (by the way, it’s an Axolotl).

I’m thinking that brushing up on my knowledge of 80’s music will be beneficial in the future. That and history, sports and movies. Uh oh… I need help.

So, my question is what random facts do you know that might help me and my team improve our score?

6 Responses to “Trivial Pursuits”

  1. Birdie 09/04/2011 at 2:24 pm #

    When I come home, if I’m allowed to join the team, I will be offering my knowledge of Russian politics and the oil & gas industry. Name of the Kazakh or Georgian president? I got it 🙂 So… I guess I’m going to be just as knowledgeable as the rest of you.

  2. wabiwabi 10/04/2011 at 2:12 am #

    I got nothing.

  3. H 17/04/2011 at 12:26 am #

    I love trivia – so pointless but so much fun :0)
    Random facts: Giraffes can’t cough, the largest exporter of 2-minute noodles is Indonesia (Mi Goreng), and Irish Coffee was invented at Shannon Airport as a way of warming passengers up after a particularly cold flight.

    • bearinthere 17/04/2011 at 9:17 am #

      You can come to trivia any time!
      My aunt and uncle came last week and loved it so much they’re going to come again 🙂

  4. H 17/04/2011 at 11:21 pm #

    I would LOVE to come! When and where is it?

    • bearinthere 18/04/2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Tuesday nights at Carina Leagues club. Roundabout 7pm.

Leave a Reply

