Five things you should know about me

1 Apr

Seeing as I’m quite new to this whole blogging thing and we don’t know each other that well, I thought I’d tell you a few things about me that I think you should know.

Consider this a “get-to-know-you” opportunity.

1. I love cats. Well, most animals really, but cats and I seem to have a kindred spirit. The cat that I’m looking after this year has decided to plonk herself on my belly as I’m typing this in an attempt to get me to pay her more attention. I don’t know what it is exactly about them that I love so much, but they’ve been a part of my life for as long as I remember and I hope they will be for the rest of my life. I not so secretly see myself becoming a crazy cat lady in the not too distant future, much to the horror and disgust of a few people I know. The thing is, though, that cats don’t upset me as much as people do. We have a mutual understanding that we don’t have to be in each other’s presence the entire time. We’re just happy existing in the same space at the same time, if that makes sense.

2. Cafes are my happy place. Whenever I go back home to visit my family, I always look forward to our Sunday outing, which will more often than not involve sitting in one of our favourite cafes and talking and laughing raucously. Cafes fill me with peace and serenity, and I’m sure I appreciate the caffeine too.

3. I am a procrastinator. I will watch tv or read instead of studying the course I’m supposed to or, you know, go to bed at a sensible hour. I have always left things to the last minute, even though I feel an immense guilt over not doing the things I need to do. I’ve tried to amend my ways on a number of occasions, but obviously procrastination has won. Maybe someone has some tips for me on how to live a more structured life.

4. I am scared of disappointing people. I find that I agree to do something out of the fear that the person will think I’m boring or not adventurous or that I don’t want to spend time with them. And I don’t know how to tell them that this isn’t the case. Whenever I hear, “Let’s do this some time”, my face says “yes”, but my brain is saying “uh oh”. It’s not that I don’t want to spend time with people. It’s more that I wish it was on my own terms. I know that sounds crazy, but that’s the way it goes in my head.

5. I have an obsession with peacocks. Just ask my sister. I get excited anytime I see their feathers and I’m drawn to that vivid blue colour. I have a bunch of feathers on display on top of my fridge and various items of clothing fitting the peacock coloured theme. Oh, how I love them.

Well, that’s all I can think of for the moment. My brain is telling me that it wants to read for a while before I go to sleep… And the cat is telling me either that she is still hungry, or that she wants more attention.

Goodnight all.

And as a parting gift this evening, I’m introducing to you the kitty that is my companion for this year (and a slightly less scary one of me than the prior one I posted).

2 Responses to “Five things you should know about me”

  1. wabiwabi 03/04/2011 at 8:56 pm #

    This cat is super “special”.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. best of the blogs. « wabi wabi - 03/04/2011

    […] + Last, but not least, my sister introduces herself properly. […]

Leave a Reply

