Technologically Challenged

28 Mar

I’ve moved houses recently… twice… and in that process, I have lost my camera charger. I’ve either inadvertently chucked it out or it’s with an old housemate, or it’s still somewhere in a box I haven’t look in yet. I don’t think it’s the last option though.

I did actually buy a new charger the other week. Perhaps I was a bit ambitious venturing into an electrical store without the supervision of either my father or brother because I left with a “universal” charger and a sinking feeling in my stomach.

I think I should have listened to the small voice at the back of my head that said, “No, leave the $80 item on the shelf because there is no guarantee it will work”. But, as usual, I ignored that little voice. It has been so wise in the past but I have always, ALWAYS gone ahead and ignored it.

Once I arrived home I was eager to test this new charger out. After all, I do like taking photos even though I’m pretty bad at it and I’ve just started this blog. Pictures are kind of a necessity to make things a little more interesting.

I opened the package and, to my dismay, there were about eight pieces included and I didn’t know which one I needed. Then there was only this tiny little sheet with vague instructions on how to fit which pieces where and I just did not understand it at all. I sat on the couch staring and fiddling with each piece for about 20 minutes trying to figure out what to do with it all. I even stared at the battery and scanned the tiny list of compatible batteries to see if that made sense. Eventually I gave up with the sad feeling that I’d made a huge mistake and that I should have taken someone into the store with me in the first place.

Anyway, the eight or so bits and pieces sat on my couch for a few days because I’m lazy as a gentle reminder of my mistake. I had to move it the following Monday though because I was expecting people over. Excellent, I thought. Someone electronically minded could have a go and attach it all for me.

Well, I got one of my guy friends to have a look at all the pieces. He fiddled for about 15 minutes and then turned to me and said, “Sarah, I think you should get rid of this thing and pretend it never happened”. That boded well. Then someone else had a look at it but gave up after five minutes of frustration. We all concluded that I should take it back to the store to return it.

Now, there’s something you should know about me. I do not like returning things. I’d probably rather suffer with a crappy product than go into the store to say I have a problem with it. I think it’s because I have a fear of confrontation. I do not like the thought of having to express my disappointment in something in front of people. Nor do I like it when others do it in my presence. It’s just a bad feeling I get and so I was pretty nervous about going back.

Nevertheless, I shoved all the bits into a bag and went back to the store feeling a little bit of nervousness. I decided to make it look like I was a total idiot (not difficult, obviously) and hope that they took pity on me. The scenario went like this:

Sales guy: Hi, can I help you?
Sarah: Hi, I’m technologically challenged and I bought this from you last week, but I can’t figure out how it works.
Sales guy: Sure, let’s take it over to the counter and I’ll see if I can put it together for you. Do you have your camera here?
Sarah: Yes, please. I think it’s here in my bag somewhere.

Sales guy looks at camera and then the box.

Sales guy: Ah yes, I think this camera came out after this universal charger did, so there is a possibility it’s too recent and not compatible.
Sarah: Ah…

Sales guy pieced together a few bits and described to me what he was doing and then reassured me that once it was set up I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore. But after two minutes of trying to force the battery into the space provided and also discussing with his co-worker about the problem of the prongs being too low or some such thing, he also decided that I’d bought a dud.

I got a refund and an apology. I also apologised for being such a doofus as to buy it in the first place, but he told me not to be sorry. And I left happy and relieved. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been so scared in the first place.

The friend who told me to get rid of the universal charger and forget I’d ever bought it in the first place was nice enough to find me a proper charger on eBay that Monday night, but I left it until tonight before ordering it. He reminded me about it this evening and I was too chicken to tell him I was still scared about buying it because maybe it’d be wrong again. Then I decided I should probably just trust him and get the thing. I told him I was worried I wouldn’t be about to put it together but he assured me it would be quite simple.

The item has been bought and hopefully it will arrive pretty soon. I’m looking forward to actually being able to take photos again. I’m going to my friends’ wedding next week so I want it to come pretty quickly.

Anyway, enough about my technological challenge. I have had plenty in the past and no doubt I’ll have many more. That’s something you guys get to look forward to in the future: more stories.

Good luck!

PS. Apologies for a no-picture post, but… you know…

One Response to “Technologically Challenged”

  1. wabiwabi 29/03/2011 at 10:02 pm #

    NICE WORK.

Leave a Reply

